We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another weekend of very good food”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #14 of 75 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Canal side pub located in Pencelli village, located in the heart of the Brecon Beacons, approximately 2 miles from Brecon town. Serving traditional home cooked food, with the option of Roast Dinner on Sundays. Family and dog friendly!!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ate here on both the Friday evening and soon after they reopened after some refurbishment. The place continues to improve and is now unrecognisable form its former self, both in terms of service and facilities. The steak I and my daughter had on Friday were both cooked to perfection and our sunday roasts were also excellent.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank G_EvansWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2019

Had Sunday lunch here twice. Both times the meal was excellent. Lovely
meat and vegetables cooked perfectly. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Was nice to be able to take the dog with us.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cydsue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018

Went there on Saturday, the welcome was fantastic, very warm & welcoming, the food was first class, and the beer just as good. We had a great afternoon, it rained all day, so we could not sit outside by the canal, but will return in the spring for second helpings!!!

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank colinjtaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We were staying at a local camp site. We went in on a Saturday afternoon for a drink and to book for a meal but were told no food for 2 weeks as the owners were away. We had a couple of drinks instead and had nothing to complain about those. I see there is another review from someone on the same weekend who did have food so I hope this is just a delay in the review and we were not lied to.
Pub has pool tables and board games if you are into those things.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank rachelf302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We now eat here regularly and always enjoy the often changing specials. We both had a Steak on a Friday evening which were cooked to perfection and real home made chips. On the Sunday we had what has now become our regular Sunday lunch at the pub, a very good and filling roast. We always book to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank G_EvansWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanhamlach, Brecon
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing