We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed one night here and wish we could have stayed longer. The farmhouse is beautiful and the room we stayed in had been furnished to a high standard but still retained a cosy farmhouse feel. There was a lovely big bathroom with a much appreciated bath tub as well as a shower cubicle. Rose and Patrick gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel right at home without being intrusive. The surrounding area is stunning with lots of walks to do. The farm feels nice and remote but the town of Brecon is only a short drive away. The local pub looked good, and if we hadn't already eaten we would have been happy to have gone there for dinner. Breakfast on Sunday morning was very good with plenty of choice; cereal, yogurt, fruit, cooked breakfast and endless toast and croissants. The breakfast would have been even better if we were asked how we wanted our eggs cooking and there had been English breakfast tea rather than earl grey. These are only trivial things and just go to show how perfect everything else was! We would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the bigger room which was fantastic, however I don't know how the smaller doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This brilliant but all too brief stay in the beautiful double bedroom in the farmhouse really added to our relaxing break. Living in a busy city we needed to escape to a country retreat and this was perfect. Rose and Patrick were lovely people and made us feel instantly at home but also let us get on with our own thing. The house itself is amazing and has a location to match, the type of place I wish I could live! Upon arrival late on a rainy/windy night they helped us in with our bags and let us watch TV in the lounge. The bathroom was spotless, as was the rest of the house, and the option to have a bath was a real treat. The breakfast consisted of cereals, toast, fresh fruit and yogurt followed by a cooked breakfast with fresh juice and coffee and was served in a adjoining room to the kitchen with French doors over looking the welsh hills.
I will definitely be visiting again with my boyfriend and will probably bring our parents along too as they will love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A truly relaxing base for visiting the Brecon Beacons and Mid Wales. Really comfortable accommodation and a hearty breakfast. Pub serving good food within a short walk. Superb walks within a short distance. The drive over the hills to Builth Wells is superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We couldn't have had a more relaxing long-weekend in the country. We were warmly welcomed by Rose and the dogs and instantly felt at home. We had a fantastic time exploring the area, not least the local pub which is only a stones throw away. Duck cottage was superb and had everything we needed. I'm very much looking forward to visiting again and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We arrived quite late on the Friday but Rose was still there to greet us with her dogs, even though she had left a note on the door for us. She knew we were there for a relaxing weekend away and she left us to it all weekend but still let us know she was there by leaving notes on the door or car which we thought was a very nice touch. We stayed in The Hayloft which was perfect and had amazing views of the countryside. We had fresh eggs for the weekend which were amazing. Would definitely recommend Alltybrain Farm Cottages to anyone and am looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked our trip to the UK last July on the internet and fancied a stop-over in Wales after a week in Cornwall. As I looked through hotels/B&B's on booking.com I noticed these lovely Farm Cottages, and we decided to book in for a night. I received a reaction from Rose that same day via email and could already tell she would be a lovely person-I was right! She welcomed us to the farm on a lovely warm day with a refreshing drink and showed us around her beautifully extended house. The attention paid to detail by Rose and her husband, both within and on the exteriour of the extension was so amazing, we didn't even realize it wasn't part of the original building until Rose told us! We were staying in the main house and both the double bedroom we were staying in and the double room for our 12 year old sons were beautifully decorated. The grounds were well cared for and Rose told us we were allowed to "wander" wherever we wanted. There was even a pub a short walk away!!

As we had never stayed in a B&B, we weren't sure what to expect but Rose made us feel like family who came to visit-we would definitely look her up when we're next in the Brecon area!

Rose was an amazing hostess-very warm and attentive- and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay with her to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A great welcome and a lovely room full of character.Rose couldnt have been more welcoming and friendly. A really peaceful and beautiful location that feels like the middle of nowhere but is just a few minutes drive from brecon. Only stayed one night but will definately return when next in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
3.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
6.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
904 reviews
6.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 43 in Brecon
58 reviews
3.7 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alltybrain Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alltybrain Farm Cottages

Property: Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Address: Llandefaelog Fach | Powys, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alltybrain Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alltybrain Cottages and Farmhouse B&B is up a private lane 4 miles from Brecon. A relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Cottage for two and B&B accommodation near The Brecon Beacons, South Wales. Damson Cottage and Duck Cottage are spacious, relaxing private holiday cottages and The traditional old Welsh Farmhouse B&B offers a warm welcome, home-made cooking and wonderful views from every direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Alltybrain Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alltybrain Farm Cottages Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing