We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Markets Tavern Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Brecon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The room I stayed in looked immaculate but I would have to agree with some of the other reviews about the bathroom condition.

The food was as you would expect - high quality and fantastically priced.

They have deals going on nearly every night of the week and they do events such as open mic night/quiz on a Thursday night.

The staff working there are very nice and so are the locals there.

Would definitely recommend this place for food and to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYSTERlON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here night before climbing Pen y fan. Chose this place as travelling with the dog. Great welcome and great food. Room was not modern but was clean and comfortable.For only £60 for 2 people , a dog and a fantastic breakfast we will return again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We didn't stay here, but after a day of walking we needed something to eat. The food was very good and excellent value, and the lady that served us was very attentive and helpful. If you want a bit of cheap and good pub grub then this is the place. Curry Night especially recommended !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentqwerty573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

If you don't mind roughing it a bit then the Market Tavern should be fine for you-you can't really complain at £25 a night. Landlord is nice and friendly (if not the most organised of people). The rooms were clean, however the bathroom was not so great. Good value food and drinks at the pub downstairs, although breakfast was a bit pricey at £5 a head no matter how little you wanted. Overall a fine stay, not luxurious, bit certainly not the worst place I've stayed, and good value for money!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian_Davies88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here in december. Yes the rooms are basic but it was warm and the staff were lovely. They do an awesome breakfast. A band called Risky shift phenomenon played when we were down who were surprisingly good. Its in the centre of town opposite the bus station. We had a family room so we could be close to the kids and 25 pounds per person and 10 pounds for kids is a bargain!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for one night the rooms are very basic but the staff were friendly and the food was ok it's placed right in the middle of Brecon so it's handy if you are visiting the local area and the bar in the hotel is very lively if your looking for a cheap place to stay it's ok for one or two nightsq

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Glynn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Tergeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#1 of 46 in Brecon
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#21 of 46 in Brecon
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Beacons
The Beacons
#34 of 46 in Brecon
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markets Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markets Tavern Hotel

Address: 36 Free Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: £42 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Markets Tavern Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 19th Century Inn B&B Accommodation which has been fully refurbished. We pride ourselves in serving traditional real ales as well as modern brands. We also serve food Tues-Sat 12-4pm + 6-8.30Pm and Sun - Mon 12-3 only. We do great food deals lunchtimes and also deals in the evenings, keep up to date with them all on our facebook page. We are based in Centre Of Brecon Near the tourist centre, pubs, restaurants, Cinema Etc. We have a Log Fire, Beer Garden, Car Park (Very Rare in this area) and most importantly a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Markets Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markets Tavern Hotel Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing