We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borderers Guest House
Ranked #8 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Although the accommodation was quite basic, it was spotlessly clean. Bedding was of a very high standard and beds comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and filling.

Beware the entrance and only drive in by turning right into the car park with mirrors turned in. I marked the sides of my car and the person following me also did the same

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
70
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We have just got home from a 2 night break. We had a lovely time, the room was very comfortable, plenty of storage, bathroom excellent. The breakfast was fabulous and the owners were very friendly. We recommend the pub across the road called The Clarence for your evening meal which was also fabulous. Overall if you want to visit Brecon we recommend the Boarderers. Thank you .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happyhousewife2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a room for the weekend but only managed one night as I was called back for work. The B&B was perfect and a real gem. The hosts were very friendly along with being very helpful, great location and apparently we missed an amazing breakfast (according to guest reviews in the log book). If your staying in Brecon its worth a visit!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_Stokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a little gem! Great hosts, great location & wonderful breakfast! Will definitely return!
Very much recommended! The car park is tight, but secure. There are loads of lovely eateries
close by. The Italian, "Robertos" and the Indian "Zeera" are to be recommended!
Also, the pub across the road, The Clarence is excellent. Thank you to our great hosts!

Room Tip: Room 7 is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a lovely stay here recently.Very warm and cosy, Owners very hospitable and looked after you really well at breakfast, which was excellent,loads to eat and all freshly cooked. We also enjoyed eating out in Brecon especially Zeera the local Indian which was very reasonable. Hope to be back to visit soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth6549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A most charming place to relax and enjoy beautiful scenery. Great hospitality.
Will definitely return! Quaint and charming. Parking is tight though, if you have a large
vehicle. A Discovery for example, may struggle. It's a height issue.
But the breakfasts are the best!
Recommended highly!
Jeremy

Room Tip: A great place! The rooms out back are quieter than those in the front. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We used a voucher we were given to stay here. Our room was perfect for us with a en suite shower room. We couldn't get our X3 into the car park as the entrance is narrow so parked it just a little way down the road. It's not easy park directly outside so parked and popped into Aldi just round the corner to check in. Very friendly and went for a walk to the canal which was very peaceful. Breakfast was a selection of cereals and/or a freshly cooked breakfast. A great location for us, after which we went to The Big Pit, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
0.1 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borderers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borderers Guest House

Property: Borderers Guest House
Address: 47 Watton, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7EG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:3 star — Borderers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century coaching Inn - 1645, to be precise, along with all the old bits still intact. We are constantly striving to keep everything up to date, with the addition of WiFi etc. The floors still creak, and we get reported sightings of ghosts.(We have never had such an experience in our 15 years here! Dare we suggest that it may just be the proximity of too many pubs?)Enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borderers Guest House Hotel Brecon
Borderers Guest House Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing