We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brecon bonus”
Review of Ty Newydd B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ty Newydd B&B
Ranked #7 of 46 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We happened upon Ty Newydd B&B on the last day of a short break in the Brecon area. We can
only agree with the descriptions that are shown above. Modern, stylish comfort in a relaxed setting with lovely 'old world'charm . Would have liked to explore the immediate area more so next time we will make Ty Newydd our B&B destination .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

As guess t to a family wedding locally we stayed here for 2 nights this is what we encountered :-

A warm and friendly welcome
A great spacious room which had every thing you could expect at a 5" Hilton hotel
A great outlook - amazing views
A breakfast fit for a king an queen the best poached eggs ever
A 5" recommendation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliebrown1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a recent trip around Wales.
This is an excellent B&B sat beside the Brecon Canal, there is easy access to all areas of the national park and Brecon town. The room we had was large and extremely clean with ensuite facilities and old world charm. A good breakfast is provided and I cannot fault the hosts.
A first rate b&b, and excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DurhamAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great B&B, ideally located nr Llanfrynach. Set back off the road so very quiet. We stayed in a very clean, modern room, but with some rustic charm! The owners are friendly and didn't seem to have masses of off putting rules etc! Breakfast was also very good.

About a 15mn walk to the White Swan pub. Easy access to the hills and the canal is right outside.

All in all a great find and we'll be back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pr1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here the night before our canal boat holiday with Cambrian Cruisers. It is on the same site and is a family affair. Rachel was very welcoming and our room was spacious and looked out onto the Brecon Beacons. After a really good night's sleep in this peaceful location we had a lovely home-cooked breakfast of locally grown produce. The B&B has free Wi-Fi and the good quality toiletries in the bathroom are a nice touch. A good place to eat in the evening was The Three Horseshoes at Groesffordd only about 10 mins drive away. Would definitely recommend this B&B for a stay in the mountains and if a shopping fix is required Brecon & Abergavenny are just a short drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Rachel and Sid welcomed us to their lovely old farmhouse which is situated in an idyllic location and which proved to have been beautifully renovated. We slept soundly in our very comfortable room and following an excellent freshly cooked breakfast we were able to walk straight from the B&B along the Mon and Brec canal towards Brecon before circling back via the Swan pub. The next day a short drive saw us up in the Beacons tackling Pen Y Fan. Would recommend this B&B to anyone and we will probably be sampling the newly opened self catering cottage for a longer holiday later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Ty Newydd was the perfect spot for a getaway. Clean, comfortable, beautiful views, hiking trail along the canal, great breakfast, and Rachel was a very cheerful hostess. It is situated close to Brecon and Brecon Beacons National Park. We felt very fortunate to stay here during our short, early-March trip. The canal boats moored for the winter promised a future adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappytravelerCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
995 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
2.9 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#3 of 46 in Brecon
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 46 in Brecon
273 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#2 of 46 in Brecon
108 reviews
2.9 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#13 of 46 in Brecon
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd B&B

Address: | Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional Welsh Farmhouse. Ty Newydd is set in a unique location on the canal by a traditional canal boat Marina. Unspoilt views of the Welsh Countryside from your bedroom window and locally sourced cooked breakfast. Good local pubs, private parking, but still convenient for Brecon town. Great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd B&B Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing