We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Self Catering Cottage!”
Review of Ty Newydd B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ty Newydd B&B
Ranked #7 of 46 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recently took our two young children on a summer break to the Brecon Beacons, and since the b&b was fully booked, Rachel recommended their newly converted self-catering cottage (two bedroom), which turned out to be the perfect choice for our 5 day family break.

We've stayed in several self catering lodges around the UK, but this was by far the best we've experienced so far. We were able to park directly outside the cottage entrance, which was great for unloading, and once inside there was nothing we could fault. It was perfectly charming, spotlessly clean - even by my impossibly high standards - and tastefully furnished while retaining the charm of the original barn (with its sloping ceilings and exposed beams). The kitchen was impressively stocked with all the cookware and crockery you could need for a dinner party, and there were lovely finishing touches around the cottage like a basket of novels in the bedroom and mood lighting in the bathroom! You could really see how much the owners care about their customers' comfort, convenience and experience.

The twin bedroom was an instant hit with our 6 year olds. It's spacious with two sturdy beds and plenty of storage, and cleverly positioned at the opposite end of the cottage to the double bedroom - a great idea for parents or friends appreciating a bit of distance at night!

Last but not least, Rachel has to be one of the most likeable people we've had the pleasure of encountering (and certainly the most likeable b&b hostess!) She radiates warmth and hospitality, and has a unique brand of cheeriness that will leave you in a good mood for the rest of the day! Sid is also lovely, and we're already planning our next visit to Ty Newydd, come rain or shine.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank CCK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a lovely place to stay and is extremely well specified and run. Rachel, who runs the business with her husband, is genuinely friendly and very cheery.

The room we stayed in was exceptionally clean and the electric and bathroom fittings were high quality. Even details such as the position/control of bedside lights and mains sockets had been carefully thought out. In my experience, such attention to detail is quite unusual in converted B&Bs and even purpose-built hotels.

We were on a cycling weekend; not serious Lycra, just bumbling about on off-road tracks and minor roads. Ty Newydd was the perfect location because it is alongside the canal with a cyclable path to several National Cycle Network Routes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cresres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here last nite. Chose this place because I knew hubby would love to have a view of the longboats. Rachel has the perfect personality and cheery temperament for the job! After 5 weeks of travelling round Italy, France & the UK this has to be on our "top 3 list" of favourite places we stayed. Couldn't fault a single thing. Fussy hubby was totally satisfied. Comfy bed, immaculately presented AND fresh real milk available for tea in your room. Only one night just wasn't enough. We stayed on a Saturday night. TAKE RACHEL'S ADVICE and book into one of the local pubs as we had to opt for our third option as the other two we went to couldn't fit us in. If you like to be in a peaceful rural location then THIS should be your choice.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs if you have heavy cases but the top floor room 3 has a view of the longboats and no w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Was on a weekend trip to the Brecon Beacons with my brother and realised the smart 4* country house I wanted to stay in was fully booked. And after staying at Ty Newydd I'm glad it was! Excellent, helpful owner, great food and the bedroom was furnished to a very high standard. I've paid twice as much to stay in places nowhere near as good as this. A real gem!

Tip: My sat nav didn't recognise a lot of postcodes in this part of the world so may be worth looking it up on Google Maps before you set out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hipman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I echo much of what has been written. Rachel and Sid have a great B&B. We had room 4; a twin on the 2nd floor (attic). The beams were OK for a 6ft+ person.

Very clean room with excellent en-suite; modern fittings in an old room with lots of exposed beams. Lots of hot water. Three pubs within walking distance.

Breakfast was lovely; great muesli and Welsh breakfast. Ideal location for walking in the Brecon Beacons. Lovely peaceful canalside location.

Note: This B&B is not in Brecon itself, but is a few miles along the canal close to Pencelli.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alMossah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We happened upon Ty Newydd B&B on the last day of a short break in the Brecon area. We can
only agree with the descriptions that are shown above. Modern, stylish comfort in a relaxed setting with lovely 'old world'charm . Would have liked to explore the immediate area more so next time we will make Ty Newydd our B&B destination .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

As guess t to a family wedding locally we stayed here for 2 nights this is what we encountered :-

A warm and friendly welcome
A great spacious room which had every thing you could expect at a 5" Hilton hotel
A great outlook - amazing views
A breakfast fit for a king an queen the best poached eggs ever
A 5" recommendation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliebrown1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
3.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
519 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
2.8 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#1 of 46 in Brecon
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#3 of 46 in Brecon
155 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 46 in Brecon
278 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd B&B

Address: | Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional Welsh Farmhouse. Ty Newydd is set in a unique location on the canal by a traditional canal boat Marina. Unspoilt views of the Welsh Countryside from your bedroom window and locally sourced cooked breakfast. Good local pubs, private parking, but still convenient for Brecon town. Great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd B&B Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing