We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of Ty Newydd B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ty Newydd B&B
Ranked #5 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A picturesque setting, a lovely bedroom with a very comfy bed, a well appointed bathroom & a hearty breakfast. That's what I want in a B&B & that's exactly what I got here. This was a real find. The view from the breakfast room & conservatory are nothing short of magnificent & a great way to start the day. Rachel was the perfect host as well making sure everything was taken care of. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssww1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
81
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I loved the room and the comfortable bed. It was beautifully warm on a very inclement day. There was lots of choice at breakfast. And if the sun was shining it would be possible to sit out in the conservatory with a coffee too. It is a perfect location for walkers and bikers. Nothing to fault really except for wishing for a better light over the bathroom mirror.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauntenmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

After a hard days winter walk in the Brecon Beacons what do you need? A warm welcome, a drying room for your gear(!), a decent shower, a good selection of pubs, a comfortable, warm bed in a beautifully restored building. Then a great breakfast to fuel another days exploration. All achieved, beyond expectation here at Ty Newydd B&B.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinch2965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night and wished it could have been longer. A warm welcome awaited us when we arrived. The rooms were well equipped and beautifully decorated. The kids appreciated the WiFi. Breakfast was very tastey and set us up for the day. A picturesque spot for a walk on the canal and views of the mountains.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PMA2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Just stopped here for two nights. Beautiful location with amazing views. This B&B is well put together, very clean & tidy. Stayed here as part of a riding holiday - has a little drying room for wet boots/coats! Our room was lovely, big comfy double bed and views out of each window. Despite staying over out of season couldn't expect higher level of service. Really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stop again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rabito_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The answer is a resounding yes! Having just skimmed all these rave (but so very much deserved and accurate) reviews initially just to bring back happy memories of Ty Newydd I have decided to do my very first tripadvisor entry. Actually I don't travel to many places but why would I need to when I discovered this gem 20+ years ago? No where else can compare. It was a pleasure to read all the complimentary, but so true, things your contributors had to say, the place and the people are as wonderful as they make them sound. My reluctance to review sooner was purely selfish, this place is too good to share with just anyone - there had better be availability for me next year.........maybe meet some of you who obviously also appreciate the finer things in life then :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandMandMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Myself and a coupe of mates stayed here twice, once in August 2013 (cottage) for some training on the hills and again in September (B&B) for the race. The cottage and B&B were both excellent. Our hosts were also very accommodating, allowing us to use their kitchen at 3am for breakfast, informing guests of our late return after the race (post midnight), etc. Would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone heading up to Brecon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
0.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
927 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
462 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
248 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
360 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd B&B

Property: Ty Newydd B&B
Address: | Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Newydd B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional Welsh Farmhouse. Ty Newydd is set in a unique location on the canal by a traditional canal boat Marina. Unspoilt views of the Welsh Countryside from your bedroom window and locally sourced cooked breakfast. Good local pubs, private parking, but still convenient for Brecon town. Great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd B&B Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing