We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, lovely host!”
Review of Ty Newydd B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ty Newydd B&B
Ranked #7 of 46 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Room was great, cosy and comfy - with lovely views out to the countryside/canal. Rachel was an amazing host and gave us excellent tips for local food options/things to do/places to see. And she serves a yummy breakfast! :) Highly recommend a walk along the canal, but with further options to explore just a short drive away (Pen y Fan/Brecon/Hay-on-Wye etc)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We chose Ty Newydd having read glowing reviews and we weren't disappointed. It is tucked away near Brecon next to the canal with a narrow boat basin closeby. It was quiet and peaceful. We couldn't have been made more welcome. We stayed at the B&B but they also have cottages too. Nothing was too much trouble. They had plenty of maps and helpful advise on walks etc, offered to organise bikes to be delivered to the B&B for us and it all came with a warm friendly smile, even drumming up some soya milk for porridge for one of us. They had a boot room with dryers and a comfortable conservatory to enjoy the views and relax. Breakfast was excellent. It was beautifully decorated, with views over the courtyard and canal. We couldn't have asked for better and will be staying again later this year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great stay in a very peaceful B&B. We were in room 1 which was very comfortable with a bath/shower ensuite and great views.

Location is superb for the Brecon Mountains (you could walk from the B&B but it would add a fair bit to the walk) and Brecon itself (a few minutes drive)

Breakfast was fantastic with good quality ingredients cooked to order.

Maps to borrow, drying/boot room, conservatory to relax in for the evening

Superb - thanks very much !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aardvark1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We've just returned from a three night stay here over the Easter holidays. What a lovely place, it's right by the canal which is perfect for a stroll. We stayed in Room 1 which was very large and light with views of the canal and the mountains from the double aspect windows. Breakfasts were cooked to perfection and you could sit in the main room or out in the conservatory with views over the garden. Sid and Rachel were perfect hosts and even left an Easter Bunny egg in our room :) We'll definitely be back when we next come to the Brecons and will recommend Ty Newydd to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoneJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

An absolutely beautiful B&B run by a lovely family. Our party enjoyed this accommodation for 4 days with 2 of our party in the main house and the rest living in Weasel Cottage. Sid and Rachel are wonderful hosts and provided in-depth information about local restaurants, walks and attractions. This B&B is perfectly located for walks around the Brecon area, especially Pen Y Fan. We had breakfast every morning in a beautifully decorated breakfast room and the food was excellent! The accommodation was absolutely spotless and equipped to the highest standard.

Cannot wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Idyllic location - perfectly situated for walkers and cyclists, just next to the tow path with impressive views of the beautiful Welsh countryside and its sheep.
Rachel is very welcoming and we enjoyed an action-packed weekend of cycling, walking and hiking with this excellent B&B as our base. Our room was immaculately clean and comfortable - we'd requested room 3, right at the top of the house, which boasts a fantastic view. Breakfast was delicious, and the communal drying room made for added convenience when it came to dealing with our wet and muddy clothes and shoes. Rachel's suggestions of local pubs and walking routes were very useful.
Thank you for a very much enjoyed and memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.the house is wonderful Rachel s breakfast superb the surroundings are tranquil at the side of the Monmouth and brecon canal.It is an ideal position for walks onto the beacons,One of the best bandb,s we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
9.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
2.9 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#3 of 46 in Brecon
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#2 of 46 in Brecon
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 46 in Brecon
275 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
6.9 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd B&B

Address: | Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional Welsh Farmhouse. Ty Newydd is set in a unique location on the canal by a traditional canal boat Marina. Unspoilt views of the Welsh Countryside from your bedroom window and locally sourced cooked breakfast. Good local pubs, private parking, but still convenient for Brecon town. Great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd B&B Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing