We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent hosts, Excellent accommodation and...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
The Stable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stable
The Terraced Lawn Dinning Room with original oak beams
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
4 reviews
The Stable
The Terraced Lawn
Dinning Room with original oak beams
The Lounge with Sky TV & DVD
Well equipted Kitchen with Range Master Cooker
Twin en-suite Bedroom (TV, DVD) with shower
Original beams from the 19th Cent.
Some other visitors!  Mr Bun
And Mr Fox
Feeding time at The Stable - A Family of Swallows
Ok,I'm ready when you are! Scamp, our Jack Russell
Ok, You'll tire before me! - A Walk or Football? Lad our Border Collie
Just a small part of the view!
Views of the terraced lawns out of the kitchen window
Red Kites often soar above
Mr Brock
Mr Pheasant
Buzzards soar high above
Utility Room with washing machine and tumble dryer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paula7771...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hosts, Excellent accommodation and location location location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had never stayed in a holiday cottage before so we were not quite sure what to expect. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the lovely collie called Lad, Hazel and Gwyn. The kettle had been boiled and two lovely welsh cakes were waiting for us. The cottage was superb, well thought out with everything you needed. It was great that we could bring our dogs too. All I can say is Location Location Location,as behind the cottage was common land where you could walk for miles, the views were absolutely breathtaking. Lad was our tour guide and kept us on the right track up on the common moor. Brecon beacons practically on our doorstep approx 20 minutes drive so perfect! We stayed for 3 days and walked and walked and walked, tell you the truth I could hardly move for the rest of the week and the dogs love it!!!! Fantastic walking holiday!!!!! Hazel, Gwyn and of course Lad Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be back very soon!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
People who love the countryside enjoys staying in The Stable for the views, wildlife, the peace and quiet and a warm welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve J
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best and most friendly guest house I've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Together with my friends Helen and Chris we stopped at The Stables, Caebetran Farm as a base for our 18 mile trek over the Brecon Beacons for raising money for the Army Benevolent Fund and Ty Hafan. We were greeted so warmly by Hazel, and the Stable guest house was so beautifully appointed and set out and with stunning views too.

By the time we left this morning after our weekend stay we certainly felt like we were leaving friends. The family are so warm and welcoming you can't help but feel completely at home. I can't rate this place highly enough. Totally recommended!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The warm friendly greeting and making us feel at home.
Liked least: impossible to say, everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
What lovely people come to our beautiful unspoilt coutryside! We are so lucky to live in the middle of it and be able to share what we have on our doorstep with them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainb0w32
County of Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couldn't ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Hazel and Chris are perfect hosts and the stable and rooms we rented were amazing. Very clean and comfortable with idyllic views. Parties staying ranged from very young child with parents to couples and single guy. All found accomodation perfect and have already rebooked for next year. You do need a vehicle as it's up a narrow hill road, but worth it when you get there. Stable offers a totally self-contained arrangement inc. washing machine and dish washer. Local pub with good food, Builth Wells worth a visit. Would recommend to everyone.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2011
What a lovely group of people to have in our Home! They worked hard in the day and came back home in the evenings to relax and sit and look at our wonderful views!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo1ponty
tunstall, kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Possibly best holiday let ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011 for a stay in August 2010
3
people found this review helpful

What can we say the Place is fantastic we have been several times we try to go two to three times a year?
It’s set up on a hill side with fantastic views see pictures at www.welshpics.co.uk.
Its quiet location at the end of the country road means you will never be interrupted, and the only noise you will here is the countryside.
You have a warm welcome from lad and scamp (the two farm dogs) then once you have got past them you meet the family Hazel and Gwyn, and their boy Chris. The family are brilliant.
Hazel runs the BandB and guest house (stables), nothing is too much trouble.
Gwyn runs the farm you will see him around with the dogs on the tractor or quad,
And Chris is normally not too far behind.
You go there as strangers and leave as friends. It truly is amazing.
You cannot see them from the moment you check-in to check out if you wish as they respect your space, or if you’re like us we ask them round and sit and have drink looking out over the beacons at the amazing view with a BBQ. Or at night roasting marsh mellows over the fire, (outside)
The stables are modern and contempt all at the same time, everything is brand new, clean and tidy. There is plenty of space for everything. You couldn’t ask for a better location, 4 miles from Brecon 20 mins from Buith-wells. 1hr from Pembrokeshire. You couldn’t ask for more.
We love our stay every time we go, we always offer to buy the stables from them but still we have had no luck,
The place is perfect for family, of 4, or even couples/ two couples or just on your own escaping the madness of the world.
You will find everything for everyone in this fantastic place, and great value for money!
Things to do in the area;
There is so much to do in the area for the young and the young at heart, you have peny fan if you fancy sitting at the top of the beacons looking out over Cardiff bay or even up into north wales with your picnic (only 1hr 30mins to the top from A470 please wear the right gear saves mountain rescue a job), or you can canoe down the canal, if that seem all too much hard work why not take a trip on the dragon fly the cannel boat. Or take a trip to the visitors centre just outside Brecon, or if you fancy wilder there is the ropes and riding centre at llangors, with the llangors lake 20 mins away. And the show caves where dinosaurs roam free. you can paintball, horse ride, go to theme park (Oakwood) walk, shop, relax, eat, dance. Etc. the place is what you make it, search the hidden the gems of wales. And you will find your little get away.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2011
This couple arrived as visitors and left as our friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing