We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of Gurkha Corner

Gurkha Corner
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepalese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Have visited the Gurkha Corner on a number of occasions since it opened. Recently ate here on a Friday evening. Despite being busy and turning up without a booking the friendly and helpful staff managed to accommodate us. The food is really flavoursome with good size portions. Nepalese food makes a nice change to Indian food, but does share some similarities. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the Brecon area.

Helpful?
1 Thank tawti_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    123
    30
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice supper”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped off after work for a quick supper and service was friendly. We had gurka lagers which we thought expensive at 4.50 a bottle but it was tasty. We just had chow chow noodle dish with lots of variety of veg s and soya very tasty and enjoyable. 24.00 with beers for two

Helpful?
Thank btwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Contemporary Nepalese Cuisine”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant whilst in Brecon and are we glad that we did! From the outside this didnt look particularly impressive but on entering we found a petite Gurkha restaurant, complete with 1970's esque decor which we just love - some people may say a little frayed around the edges but this just oozes authenticity and... patina! The menu was varied and the wine list was very reasonable, meal for two with starters, sides and wine coming in at under £50! The food was really very flavoursome and a joy to experience. There are very limited tables here so would advise to book in advance! Service was great with the owner and staff being very attentive and on hand. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spoilsburytoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It was a small cosy room the staff were lovely, the food was very different to any thing we had tasted before. Very good value for money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“cosy little place”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Gurka corner is a nice little eatery with a nice choice of food which is slightly different from others it is quite a small place so make sure you book, service is good and the people are friendly

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mollymop50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Corner also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Gurkha Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing