We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gurkha Corner

Gurkha Corner
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our first experience of Himalayan Nepalese cuisine and we would thoroughly recommended .The food was absolutely delicious- far more subtle flavours than Indian food. Everything tasted really fresh. We would recommend the Gurkhali special platter as a starter- great for sharing- a mixture of tandoor cooked meat and fish and including the surprisingly tasty cheesy chicken. We shared a number of main dishes too- the nettle curry was very interesting but most delicious was the marinated white fish curry which melted in the mouth. We will definitely return on our next visit to Brecon .Make sure you book as table are limited and not surprisingly this restaurant is very busy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SEWMST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    114
    28
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Tuesday evening and the restaurant was packed. We ate upstairs in what can only be described as a living room with sofas and coffee tables! Compared with normal Indians the food was different and exceptionally tasty. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff were helpful and attentive and the food was delicious - rich in flavour and not as greasy as many Indian restaurants. Unfortunately, they were out of my partner's first choice main course, were a slow serving the starter and with a long wait between courses despite the restaurant being fairly quiet and the diet cola that I ordered was completely flat so could do better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little piece of Nepal in the heart of Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have been to this part of the world on many occasions but always seemed to miss out on a visit, and had been wanting to try this place since all the good things I heard!

I must say it did not disappoint, very traditional and full of flavour. They even have some Kathmandu beer (Albeit brewed in UK) to help cool the tongue with all those great spices going on.

Very enjoyable meal and will definitely return on my next visit.

Tip: Book ahead. It is a very small place and you could struggle to find a table if you don't.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VoyagerJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quirky, comfy, authentic and very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stumbled upon this restaurant and was very pleased we did. Yes they asked "did we have a booking", we hadn't and we were lucky to get the last but one table. None of us had eaten Nepalese food before and we all loved it. The staff are very helpful and extremely polite at all times.
The food was beautiful, we had starters, then mains. We all had different mains and all took the opportunity to taste the others choices and all agreed it was some of the tastiest food we had tasted. The bill for the four of us came to £93, that included poppadum's', starters, mains and two drinks each, so quite reasonable. If you want tasty food, something different in a very relaxed environment you can't go far wrong with this place. I know I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Worthalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Corner also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Gurkha Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing