We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Campsite!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priory Mill Farm Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here last week in our camper van with our dog, who was welcome. Site very well kept and facilities really clean and quite sufficient. The fire boxes provided are a great idea and the sack of wood and kindling supplied for £5 sufficient for our 2 night stay. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great place to camp. Owners very pleasant and helpful. Lot of rain when I was there in october but it was still a great place to be. I would recommend it to anyone that wants a great camping experience. Can have small fires in containers supplied. The site is lovely amongst woodland and next to a river.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank markmedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We really enjoyed our night's stay here after a heavy weekend excavating an old slate mine further north and then a hike up Corn Du and Pen Y Fan. The peacefulness and tranquility of the site allowed us to sleep a full 12 hours which was great!

We were in a campervan which was a little tough to get on site (there's a u-bend at the bottom of the hill) but otherwise no problem if you don't want an electricity hook-up - they even have hard-standing areas to park up on.

Facilities were clean and well-maintained, and the showers hot. Our only real gripe was that absolutely everything was chargeable - the showers are 50p/4minutes, it cost £2 to borrow a map for an afternoon plus a £10 deposit etc. etc. But not a major issue for our short stay.

Overall we loved out stay - the babble of the river, the roaming chickens and the very friendly hosts made for a great stopover.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location if you plan to camp for a couple of days and need easy access to Brecon. Brecon is about a 5 minute walk and a nice town.

The facilities for the site were fairly average, there is only 1 male toilet to 3 female toilets and the showers were ok, although water pressure dropped to a dribble on a couple of occasions mid shower. I think the 50p idea for 4 minutes of hot water is great on a small campsite as it prevents people hogging the showers for too long.

My main gripe with the campsite was the number of rules. I am sure 99% of campers know how to behave, but everywhere you look there are rules, rules and more rules. We arrived at 11:30 am to be told we had arrived too early and obviously not read the rules on the website, we were then handed the rules on paper and reminded by the numerous rules hanging up on every spare wall on the campsite, including additional rules on how to shut doors properly, how to use taps, how to park, how to clean the shower, how to put money in the coin slot for the showers etc etc (all with capital NOTS and heavy underling). Having camped in many campsites across Europe, this is the first time I have seen this and made the campsite seem unfriendly and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jdp2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

When we first arrived we were initially impressed, that soon changed after pitching up and discovering how noisy the road next to us was, despite it being advertised as an unclassifed and quiet road. Was woken up by traffic noise early every morning.
Very basic facilities and with only 1 male sit down toilet so not ideal. Poor showers, was halfway through washing my hair when the water turned freezing cold and wouldn't heat up again. Found the fact that there were signs all over the place telling you what you couldn't do a little condecending, ok I agree you have to have rules but there were everywhere you looked and was also given a copy of them when we checked in, just too much.
Wasn't made to feel particularly welcome and wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bluebird33rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

4 of us stayed here for 1 night on 7th September. It was a very short stay as we were climbing Corn Du, Pen Y Fan and Cribyn on the Sunday morning. We arrived around 9.00pm on the Saturday night and met Susie and Noel in the farmhouse, we rapidly paid and left to set up our tents as they were having dinner and we didn't want to interrupt them for too long.

The campsite was immaculately clean, especially the toilets and showe areas which were also very warm inside unlike others I have used. The campsite is a short stroll along the river from the town of Brecon which was very handy too.

I would highly recommend th Priory Mill and will certainly return next summer for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFOSTFOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Priory Mill Farm is a defo must on any campers wish list.Arriving on Thursday the 5th of September, after a long drive, we were greeted with Susie in the kitchen.After all pleasantries over with,we were then given a list of thing's you are allowed and not allowed to do, which after reading carefully, totally and utterly agree with.
Light's out and quiet after 10.30...a must. No radios or loud music..a must. A time limit on getting certain thing's from the owner's after 19.30,as is stated in the form your given, there suppertime... (which i totally agree with, because even campsite owners need to have a life too). A total must when u visit, is to get yourself a charcoal and wood burning plate which are available from the little undercover place next to the recycling area. Yes the wood is �5.00 a bag, and charcoal available too But if someone has to cut it and bag it ( which I'm assuming its Noel or Susie, surely its worth that to put a real open fire outside.Another thing i have given ten out of ten of, is the toilet and shower block....What can i say ( spotlessly clean ) and another thing on the list, is mop the shower floor after using it...well, i don't want to walk in someones mud, so give it a mop and its clean for the next person...seems reasonable to me.Also, the cost of 00.50p to have a shower, which lasts 4 minutes, and a long 4 minutes at that, is irrelevant , because, there spotlessly clean.The toilets,(spotlessly clean again),and lot's of toilet paper, which, i have never experienced in any other campsites ( there usually pinched by the shallow minded) Put tent up near the river, and overjoyed at the lack of the dreaded midges. Washing up area is also very clean, no hot water though, which to my mind, is not a prob at all, because if it bother's you that much (YOUR CAMPING!! USE YOUR KETTLE TO BOIL SOME HOT WATER) My pro's and con's list i think i must have to do....Pro's. Very inviting campsite,clean and quiet.Chicken's friendly too, just watch the sausages or breaky's they will want to share, sign's are up about it. Spotlessly clean, �5.00 of wood for open fire, great value, 10 mins walk from Brecon, just one of the nicest campsites i have visited in a long time.Con's....The review site says ( Give constructive criticism where necessary ) unfortunately, i cant criticize anything about my visit....Im trying to think of something, but cant ? See the pro,s list i think is best. Thank you Noel And Suzie for a delightful campsite, and my partner and i will be back soon.( Very Soon )

Room Tip: When you actually arrive, take a look on the right, as you turn the car to go to the campsite, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
3.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,029 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
521 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#30 of 46 in Brecon
93 reviews
3.9 mi away
Brynderwen Farm
Brynderwen Farm
#27 of 46 in Brecon
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 46 in Brecon
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Mill Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Mill Farm Campsite

Address: Priory Mill Hay Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Brecon
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small-scale, low-impact, secluded place to camp, our riverside meadow may provide it. It's only a ten-minute walk from the Georgian market town of Brecon, yet the only buildings visible are our farmhouse and watermill, which provide the perfect backdrop to the camping meadow. Alternatively there is also a one bedroom holiday cottage (advance booking essential). The Granary is accessed up a flight of stone steps beyond the farmhouse. Quiet and secluded, overlooking a part of the river and ancient woodland that is separate from the campers meadow, the cottage also has its own garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Priory Mill Farm Campsite Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing