We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”

Review of The Bull Pens

The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The Bull Pens- Upper Decking
The Bull Pens
Upper Bull Pen kitchen
Lower Bull Pen kitchen
The  contemporary upstairs living room in The Upper Bull Pen
The downstairs living room
Double bedroom in the Upper Bull Pen
En-Suite Bathroom
King Bedroom
King Bathroom
Twin room with view of the farm and surrounding hills
En-Suite Shower Room
Dining Room area of Lower Bull Pen
Spacious dining area with the Upper Bull Pen
View of the barns
Our resident bull - Eclipse
The view at the top of the farm
Llanfihangel Nant Bran Village
The New Play Area
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
Upper Bull Pen Hot Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarah S
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious accommodation. Layout and finishing touches well thought out, and warm welcome and help from the owners much appreciated. Beds and linen divine, kitchens large and well equipped and dining area lovely for a large group to socialise together. Bonus aspects were the wood burners, hot tub, childrens play area and a warm invitation for the children to get involved in the farm.. We rented both bull pens and it worked really well for 2 families of friends to spend time together with the adjoining door making it feel like one accommodation. Location great for a "get away from it all" break with the views to go with it. But don't worry you can still stay in touch with the world if you wish with good wifi connection and the option to have your shopping from the supermarket delivered! Am struggling to find anything negative to say - not important to us but might bother some people that mobile phone reception is poor - not something the owners can do anything about and they kindly offered use of their landline if needed. Would highly recommend staying at the Bullpens - fantastic accommodation and nothing was too much trouble for the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to choose - so many good aspects
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12erin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Idyllic rural getaway with modern accommodations and a fabulous hostess!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We could not be more pleased with the lovely Fiona and her beautiful property, set in the countryside with lovely views all around. We booked this weekend getaway VERY last minute but Fiona was more than accommodating and was waiting for us with an immaculately clean house and absolutely no fuss. She was so easy to deal with during booking, provided special directions to help us find our way to the farm, and even checked in with us when we were on our way to make sure we didn't have any problems on our journey from Portsmouth.

The bullpens are a fantastic property-- we stayed in the Upper Bullpen, with a JACUZZI a few steps from the front door...let me just tell you how amazing that was after a full day walking the Pen y Fan, Corn Du and Cribyn peaks!! The lounge comes stocked with a big basket of logs for the awesome wood burning stove, and you can enjoy the view of the welsh countryside out the deck doors. The double bed feels like you're sleeping on clouds it's so comfortable, and both bathrooms are very contemporary/modern and tastefully finished. Kitchen is spacious with plenty of room for cooking an elaborate meal, and the heated slate floors keep your toes warm!

I would absolutely recommend this property for any size group - the two of us enjoyed having all the space to spread out but it would easily accommodate families and large groups. Thank you Fiona for making our stay so easy and comfortable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie_McC...
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in July 2013 with a group of friends (aged 25-35). We hired out both parts of the barn and had heaps of space. Location was beautiful, unspoilt views of the sky at nice and within driving distance of some of the more famous walks in th3 Brecons. Hot tub was brilliant, owners very friendly and it was incredibly clean, they've done a fabulous job of converting this place. I would definitely recommend to others, can't wait to go back again next year!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Millom, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a wonderful location, so well equipped for children”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having just stayed in the Lower Bullpen for a week whilst we went to the Welsh Show, I have to say the cottage was wonderful so clean and well equipped and the added addition of the small park was ideal for us having 4 young children. I will definitely be going back and would fully recommend this to anyone, the owners Bryan & Fiona were so friendly and made our stay fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the fact the kids could play outside so freely
Liked least: Nothing everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajirda Y
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Farm Stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Bull Pens is a fantastic place to stay. We stayed at the the Upper Bull Pen and it was beautiful. The cottage is extremely well decorated and maintained and they have everything there. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The main attractions for us were the wood fire place, the hot-tub and the BBQ. Fiona and Brain and very friendly and extremely nice people. We did not where to go and what to see and they gave us detailed information about everything. But the best part of trip for us was the tractor ride with Brain. It was very exciting and educating at the same time. We had a 2 year old kid with us and she thoroughly enjoyed the stay as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brain and Fiona are fantastic and they are amazingly good at what they do
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenise211
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“little heaven”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

just got back from staying at The Bull Pens had an absolute wonderful stay. Fiona and Brian are such wonderful hosts...the house is beautiful and well equipped, the view stunning :) so much peace and on a clear night you can almost count the stars :) we had traveled 6 countries in 20 days...and coming to the bull pens felt like coming home...all i would recommend guest is,do not forget to carry some food or you would end up emptying Fiona and Brian fridge like we did hehehe.... also we all would like to thank Brian for the wonderful ride up the hill we have some lovely memories for little Eva.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The best part was how helpful Fiona and Brian were.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essbeeLon...
london
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

What an absolute delight this place is!
If you are looking for peace and quiet in a rural setting then this is it. The pens are newly built to an extremely high standard and everything inside has a very luxurious feel. Plenty of cutlery/crockery and loads of space. We couldn't think of anything they didn't already provide, even down to handwash in all the loos and dishwasher tablets!
The nearest town, Brecon, is about 15-20 mins drive away through some of the most breathtaking scenery i have ever seen. There you will find a large morrisons supermarket and lots of other little shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The 'farmy' smells! Although you do get used to it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$643
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing