We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable, lovely location and very...”

Review of The Bull Pens

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

722tom
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, lovely location and very friendly hosts.”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Grandfather, daughter and two grandchildren loved our stay at Lower Bullpens.
Everything within the accommodation was top quality and fitted out to a very high standard . Beams and timbers incorporated into the fabric gave it a very atmospheric atmosphere.

Fiona and Bryan were very warm hosts and Bryan’s quad and trailer tour of his fields was one of the highlights of our holiday as we looked from 1200 feet at the lovely Beacons scenery surrounding us. We were also introduced to the show calf called Strawberry Split and her companion and the children allowed to pour the feed into her trough.

We were very lucky with the weather over the last week of the Easter holiday - day after day of glorious Spring sunshine so it was a real bonus to have the children’s swing and play area so close to the front door.

The Bull Pens are a great venue for exploring the Brecon Beacons, well situated for exploring the area from the Sugar Loaf in the east, waterfall walks in the centre and the castles to the western edges of the beacons, all of which we did.

A memorable week.

Date of stay: April 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
support88
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An outstanding property, in a beautiful area with oustanding hosts”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This property would be super for whatever size of group. I traveled with my son for our annual three week hike. The property was exceptionally comfortable and located in easy position from Brecon and vicinity hiking. The area is supported by a variety of excellent restaurants. For those who are organic inclined, Fiona can guide you to some first class providers. Our hosts could not be more helpful and accommodating and, at the same time were very unobtrusive. It was a great experience. Whether it is with family groups, people keen to hike, individuals, this is a great place to be!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Liked least: the internet can be a bit slow
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BryonyEll...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding for families or couples.”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed 4 nights, with 3 children. All the little touches make this place special. Am fabulous and unexpected welcome goodie pack for our first night, cit with bedding, & highchair. Even a baby spoon! Fiona & Bryan great hosts, showed the kids the sheep. The Lower bullpen is modern, warm, high spec but not too much that you worry about kids staying there. Kids play area in view & a hot tub! We will be back. Would come as a couple too. Outstanding.

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrAdrian1...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a great find and lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My parents kindly let me wife have a week away while they looked after our three boys. We wanted somewhere to get away from it all, somewhere quiet, and somewhere relaxing. We stayed in the lower bull pen and it was just what we were looking for. The accommodation is excellent. The bed we slept in was sumptuous, the underfloor heating was a great idea, the rooms are spacious, and property well equipped. All in all, if you want to have a break and go somewhere relaxing, this is the place for you. Thoroughly recommend you go to the Brecon Beacons and stay at the Bull Pens.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeckiW90
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible, 5 star all the way!”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I along with two friends booked The Bullpens for a long weekend away - we arrived on Friday afternoon and left on the Monday morning. On arrival we were amazed, the whole property is breath-taking. We met Fiona and Bryan who were incredible, warming and welcoming.
It was the best experience by far, we were lucky to have the weather on side. Welcomed into the home with little welcome packs (wine, cheese, welsh cakes and crackers) we made use of the Asda delivery we were told about that came as promised and was perfect. The hot tub meant after days out walking, or seeing the sights, we came back and relaxed for an hour or so before having a nice BBQ and unwinding for the evening. They have a TV provided, but this never went on throughout our entire stay. We played the games provided, ate food, drank wine and just enjoyed our time there with the log burner on into the late evening.
I am 100% interested in coming back for a week in April next year, I had the most amazing time and I cannot wait! I've never felt so welcome, safe and at home - it was the best place to really get away from city life. Phones didn't have signal but in reality that didn't matter...in fact it made the whole experience that bit better.
I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for that amazing quiet get away!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, what an amazing barn conversion”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in the Lower Bull Pen with our 2 1/2 year old son for a 4 night break. This is a fantastic conversion and equipped to the very highest standards. The views from the terrace in the landscaped gardens across the valley are amazing. Our son particularly enjoyed visiting the cows and the tractor each morning and had a great time playing in the children's play area. Fantastic hosts and a beautiful property. Can't recommend enough and are looking forward to returning again very soon. A thoroughly well deserved 5 star rating and the bedrooms with en-suites are spacious and have the feel of a boutique hotel. Great for families, but would be beautiful location for a romantic break without the children! Terence, Anouska & Phelix

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lee13425
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem set in the beautiful welsh countryside”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect place for a weekend away, catching up with mates. The accommodation was absolutely lovely- done to a really high spec and gorgeous surroundings. It had everything you'd want there and more! The beds were also fantastic- possibly some of the best nights sleep I've ever had! Cradoc golf club is also really near by and is a very well kept course with a great range of holes and quite reasonable too! Would not hesitate to recommend the bull pens to anyone wishing to spend a nice tranquil break away in the beautiful welsh countryside. Thanks very much for everything Brian and Fiona!

Lee, Cardiff.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.