We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB”
Review of Honey Cafe

Honey Cafe
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: Mexican, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A friendly family-run restaurant serving good quality home cooked food. Our cakes and desserts are all homemade on the premises. We serve food all day from 9am until 9pm, 7 days a week. Renowned for our cooked breakfasts, street snax and texmex menu after 6pm. Food sourced locally where possible. Beautiful views from our sunny terrace and plenty of parking.
Reviewed 12 January 2019 via mobile

It may call itself a cafe but it is anything but. Saturday lunch.... service excellent, lovely cosy restaurant. Home made lasagne, fresh garlic local bread,chips, side salad, honey cafe classic burger, chips. All freshly cooked, washed down with lush local beer and cider. Absolutely beautiful fresh local home cooked food. Plenty of it. Reviewed The Ivy in Cheltenham recently, this place knocks spots off the pretencious, overpriced, poor quality food which is the Ivy - the Ivy chefs could learn a million things from this restaurant...and the Honey Cafe was at least £100 cheaper!!! .... no guessing which one we will go back to. We are so lucky to have such truly honest home cooked restaurants in our own backyard. Well done to this lovely restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2019
3  Thank DaiThePost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stopped here on the way through the Pembrokeshire.
We'd checked the menu online and we're really excited by the vegetarian options that were on offer.
When we arrived the buzz from the cafe was really nice and found a cosy table in corner.
The food we ordered was excellent and our needs catered for so efficiently.
For us sometimes we get frustrated replys when we enquire over vegetarian dishes and here we were spoken to so well it really made us comfortable. The extra mile by staff to accommodate us was extremely sincere and well received and we really enjoyed our visit.
We even took home some local honey and finished off with coffee wrapped up outside. Excellent visit and would definitely recommend and pop by again!

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank beano_d_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

We regularly travel to West Wales and so coming or returning we time our journey to stop off here for food. Lovely location facing the changing mountain landscapes. Staff are friendly, food is excellent, home made pies and cakes to die for. Take time to read the history of the place once a roaring night spot in the 60s!
Sunday lunches are gorgeous but a word of warning get there early as many before you regularly return for the same reasons.

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Pembsfan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018 via mobile

Called on the off chance of some refreshments on a busy Saturday.
We’re accommodated on Saturday (leading up to Christmas) when it appeared all tables were reserved.
Lovely Bara-brith and tea.

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank garethbufton111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018 via mobile

I am semi-joking but not far off! The Honey café: I have been visiting this place regularly for the last 20 years. I couldn’t believe when we first started driving around this area looking to move from London - that there was a Tex-Mex in what felt at the time like the middle of Wales (it isn’t)! It’s one of those places - warm, inviting, welcoming .. superb food and barely ever is there a glitch: the service is always spot-on with welcoming owners Lucy and Emma

There is nothing not to like about this place

If it ain’t broke don’t fix it!
that’s exactly their philosophy and it works!

(The Budda is mine!)

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank CatL391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honey Cafe also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Honey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing