We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay.”
Review of The Draen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Draen
Ranked #4 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ashtead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Back again for a great visit, a relaxing and very comfortable place to spend a few days, the best B&B beds I have ever slept in and the breakfast gets better each time, lovely owners in Sue and Johnny, made us feel so welcome as always, can only highly recommend it as a must if your going to stay in the area and prefer to be out of the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Draen provides an excellent B&B with welcoming hosts spotless rooms and a breakfast second to none. This was our second stay and can't wait to arrange the third. We were made to feel very welcome and the private use of a sitting room was so helpful as we were travelling with a baby for which they provided a new high chair at very short notice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here last weekend as we were attending a wedding locally. Jonny could not have been a better B&B proprietor, he is a natural host and really understands how to make his guests welcome. The room was very comfortable with a modern bathroom and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I would recommend The Draen without hesitation - thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stopped over whilst visiting in the Brecon park. For £75 we had welcome coffee , a quality breakfast and use of a private lounge. We had picked something up from a supermarket for dinner as we were tired and again we were provided with plates and cutlery. Lovely people in a farmhouse in the hills. Worth every penny and more.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Relaxing and comfortable, the Draen is such a perfect base for a holiday in Brecon that we extended our stay.
Johnny and Sue were helpful and friendly throughout, keeping the wood-burner stoked for us, cooking up a delicious and plentiful breakfast, and advising us well on local eateries and activities.
The bed was very comfy with a nice en-suit, gorgeous views and Wi-Fi.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan12321_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Wonderfully friendly, warm wood-burning stove in personal dining room/sitting room, comfortable bed, clean bedroom and bathroom, delicious freshly cooked breakfast. Quiet location, beautiful view. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jer4096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Sue & Johnny are the perfect hosts, always happy to make you a pot of tea and share their knowledge of the local area. The accommodation is nothing short of excellent. It's rare to find a b&b that offers you your own lounge with a wonderful wood burner to keep the chills off.

Our bedroom was spacious with it's own en-suite and the views are fantastic, the b&b is in a lovely location off the beaten track so a peaceful nights sleep is assured.

The town of Brecon is only 6 miles away so very convenient for shops like Morrison's or the Co-op. There are a couple of nice restaurants as well. All in all we enjoyed every minute of our stay here and will no doubt return when we are back in the area.

Steve & Tina

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bloberoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
4.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
5.8 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
4.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Draen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Draen

Property: The Draen
Address: Llanfilo, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 0RG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Draen 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Draen (Welsh for Thorn Tree) is a wonderful old Welsh farm house that, in parts, dates back some 400 years. Nestling at the end of a very quiet country lane, surrounded by fields with fabulous views to the Black Mountains. A perfect spot for exploring, walking, cycling or simply just enjoying the peace and quiet. Plenty of wildlife to see in surrounding area including badgers. Look out for the Red Kite & the Buzzard flying high.We have 2 double rooms, both en-suite, with their own separate front doors and staircase. There is 1 twin room with a new modern en-suite and a family room which sleeps 3. Each of the bedrooms has its own separate dining room for breakfast. The rooms are well appointed with quality beds, TV, hair dryer, alarm clock and tea and coffee making facilities. Iron and ironing board available upon request. WIFI. There is a conservatory and garden available for residents use.We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you to The Draen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Draen Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing