We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Draen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Draen
Ranked #5 of 45 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Amazing B&B could not fault it at all.... the owners John and Sue are welcoming and the service outstanding. Fabulous location. Best place to stay in Wales. The food is amazing. Rooms clean and tidy with a really homey feel. Relaxing and chilled. We would recommend to friends and family and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanoridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We drove to this place which we knew was new to the little green book, rather than phone as we were already in the area. Glad we did as fortunately for us someone had left at short notice due to family illness. Had we phoned earlier we would of been told no availability. We could not think of anything at all that was not excellent. Before we mentioned that we prefer instant coffee rather than filter - no problem at all. Breakfast was excellent - room was excellent - every thing was excellent
Martin

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked this place on the basis of trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Our hosts (John and Sue) were absolutely lovely and greeted us with a pot of tea and biscuits on arrival. The room was spotless and the bed was huge and comfortable. There isn't much in llanfilo but there are a few pubs a short drive away. Breakfast was varied with cereals, toast, a full English and fresh fruit available. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daph123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at The Draen for one night in early Spring. We were greeted with a cup of tea, biscuits, and a warm log fire in our own cosy sitting room. The bedroom was clean with a great bed and a view of the Welsh countryside dotted with lambs and daffodils. In the morning, we had a generous and tasty cooked breakfast served by the lovely hosts. We certainly would visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We can't speak highly enough of this lovely B&B tucked away between the Brecon Beacons & The Black Mountains. The rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfasts were truly great. Johnny & Sue were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They made some good recommendations of where to visit including the 'Big Pit' coal mine in Blaenvon. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to our friends and family.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RogerGrunsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We arrived on a blustery cold evening and was greeted by a lovely hot cup of tea from Sue, after spending a few minutes toasting ourselves in front of the log burner we settled into our room.

Our room was immaculate and the en-suite shower was fantastic. After a very peaceful night we awoke to the smell of cooked breakfast. It tasted as good as the aroma suggested and was served on china plates.

Our hosts Johnny and Sue looked after us very well for our two nights stay and we wish it could have been longer. We're already talking about a return visit in the summer. Their website is definitely worth a visit at www.thedraen.co.uk if you want to contact them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloberoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

we stayed at the Draen for a long weekend in late autumn 2013, and could not fault it. we felt so welcomed by the hosts and the place was immaculate. we have been to wales before and stayed in a few B+Bs. I have to say its great value, the breakfasts are fantastic and very comforting! there are good local pubs near-by such as the Griffin which is only a short car journey and the star in Talybont-on-usk is also terrific pub. There are also good walking points near by, one of our favourites being a waterfall walk! . The dining rooms are very comfortable- especially the wood burning stove- seems as it was November! we will defiantly be returning to the Draen for our next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyviolet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
5.8 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
501 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
4.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 45 in Brecon
273 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#2 of 45 in Brecon
107 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Draen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Draen

Address: Llanfilo, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 0RG, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Draen 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Draen (Welsh for Thorn) is a wonderful old Welsh farm house that, in parts, dates back some 400 years. Nestling at the end of a very quiet country lane, surrounded by fields with fabulous views to the Black Mountains. A perfect spot for exploring, walking, cycling or simply just enjoying the peace and quiet of staying in a country setting rather than in town. We have 1 double ensuite room. There is 1 room with a king and single bed ideal for families/twin. Z beds available for extra children. The Rose Suite has a super king bed and en suite shower and its own private sitting room with a wood burning stove for cozy romantic getaways. All rooms are well appointed and en suite with quality beds, TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Iron and ironing board available upon request. Free WIFI. Ample free parking outside the house.There is a conservatory and garden available for residents use. This is an idyllic hideaway. So for a taste of The Beacons visit us at The Draen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Draen Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing