We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views- not much else”
Review of Castle of Brecon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle of Brecon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our room was satisfactory but access poor. Very dated inside. We noticed a number of blocked coridoors and also witnessed poor handling of guest complaint. (Plumbing roblem and lock on door did not work.) Manager hid away and we felt sorry for receptionist. Both breakfast and dinner were adequate but not to a good standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Following a training event I delivered I was traveling back home to Welshpool from Barry in Wales with my mother. Our car lights failed which meant we had to find accommodation overnight as it was very late and sooooo dark (dangerous driving conditions). We were escorted to Brecon by a very kind police man to find a hotel for the night. The officer took us to this hotel. On arrival we explained the situation hoping that they would be sympathetic to 2 women on their on in need in need (not through choice) for an overnight stay. I was so upset that the receptionist said the only room available would cost us £150!!!!!!! After explaining the situation again and hoping they would be kind enough to help us they would not budge on the price. We simply didn't have that kind of money at hand between us. I asked to speak to the manager to see if he could help, after all it was so late and it was unlikely this room would be filled. Nope! he wouldn't budge either and said the room would cost us £150! We were stressed enough as it was but had to find elsewhere to stay which took a further 30 minutes. On a personal note I ask myself why aren't there more people in this world we live in that are more helpful and understanding to help their fellow beings! I would personally do all I can to help someone in need.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
12  Thank VickyB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here for one night during a tour. Lovely hotel nice room clean and tidy, comfortable bed. The setting is lovely sitting outside in beer garden with welsh mountains in background. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

on arriving sat pm we booked in receptionist was almost robotic in her speech .almost a sketch from victoria wood !!! she needs some training.our rooms were lovely spotless as you would expect.bed was lovely comfortable .shower needs replacing in room25 as it didnt flow very well water came out ok but it didnt spray you all over .the setting is stunning sitting outside in beer garden with welsh mountains in background.only two milks on guest tray guess we needed to ask for more .hotel is lovely breakfast choice taste quality excellent.thought menu was overpriced a bit.and drinks were all reasonably priced. we had a deal so fab price

Room Tip: we booked superior doubles 25 27 nice rooms shower needs to be better quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Fantastic restaurant and service but was badly let down by the worn out bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamminwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

After reading some of the previous reviews we were wondering what our room was going to be like! However we were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door and we found our room wasn't a shoebox - instead it was a large family room with a beautiful of the Brecon Beacons. The bathroom needed a bit of a revamp but it was clean which was all that mattered as we were only there for one night on a Groupon deal (we had upgraded to a Superior Beacons view room). The bed was very comfy and the little extras of mineral water and biscuits were great. Breakfast was nice too - good croissants! The hotel was mainly full of wedding guests for a wedding the next day which wasn't a problem - apart from one hotel guest who was staying next to us - he decided to have an agressive drunken row with his brother at 4.30 am in the morning which must have woken up most people at the back of the hotel. When we were checking out at Reception there had already been complaints made against him but the hotel listened carefully and said they would deal with the problem. Not the hotel's fault but guess you can't do much about a drunken ranting wedding guest! Fantastic value for £49 for the room, probably wouldn't pay full price but it is a 3 star hotel and does what it says on the tin. Would have rated it 3.5 for value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Had a groupon voucher for double room.decor abit tired but clean cannot fault the pretty surroundings.would not pay full price. Good fresh selection at breakfast. Can highly recommend Robertos italian in brecon,DO NOT be fooled by exterior, its packed out,best italian ive ever eaten!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshlaura31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
3.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
984 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
12.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
534 reviews
9.5 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Brecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Brecon

Address: Castle Square, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9DB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
Price Range: £94 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Brecon 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 40 bedrooms providing a variety of different types of accommodation. All rooms in the main hotel are individually decorated and offer LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. We will be happy to discuss your accommodation requirements and the type of room that would be most suitable for your needs. Our current prices are published here as a guide, please note that from time to time these will change to reflect local events. Standard Bedrooms from £87 Standard Family Bedrooms from £97 (based on 2 adults and 1 child) Superior Bedrooms from £107 Family Mews rooms from £157 (room only)( 2 adults and 2 Children) Walkers Mews rooms from £157 (room only) Beacons View Bedrooms from £137 Four Poster rooms £157 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle of Brecon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Of Brecon Hotel Brecon
Castle Hotel Brecon
Castle Of Brecon Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing