We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle of Brecon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle of Brecon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

After a rather eventful trip up one of the Local hills and a wet and muddy night under canvas , a good meal warm bed and spruce up would have surficed, and all that would be expected. Reception unfazed by our dissheveled appearance , expedited checking in and use of the bar whilst waiting for the room to be cleaned and free (we arrived earlier to normal check in time ).
Small warm adequate twin bed clean room , Good toiletries etc and execellent buffet style english breakfast. Luxury treatment with friendly and helpful staff , nothing too much trouble (including posting of items forgotten in the room ,back to residential address !) Spoilt. Now going to find it difficult to stay anywhere in Brecon other than here ..especially a tent !!

Room Tip: Not seen the pool as nearly drowned as it was in the bar ! Had enough of fitness by then as well so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    162
    50
    27
    19
See reviews for
75
199
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed one night for a wedding nearby. Quick check in, allocated room 25 which is a small double room. Little bit wonky but that's all part of the character. Good toiletries and a well stocked tea tray. Breakfast was buffet style full English and continental with some additional items like ham and eggs available to order at no extra cost. Very yummy.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just returned from a over night stay at The Castle hotel. We received a really warm welcome and our room was well proportioned with a huge bed! Bit disconcerting when you sit on a chair in your room and everything looks to be on the slope, but that is part of the character of the building. Could not fault the food, we ate in the restaurant in the evening, and must admit it was the nicest meal I had had when eating out for a very long time. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and my benchmark for a decent hotel is the fruit salad served at breakfast, no tinned fruit, just lovely fresh fruit and the tastiest yoghurt! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, the location is central and we had a lovely room overlooking the river, will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyann235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Well what a peach!!!
The town is lovely and the Castle overlooks the beacons, our room was booked at the hotel itself and was a well proportioned and nice decor with a bath, shower and some nice touches for toiletries.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but had breakfast in bed in the morning, nice touch and well cooked with ample choice. A good nights sleep and a good point to tour the area.

Will be re visiting it again.

Thank you to emma on the front desk

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms look onto the front car park but no noise or disturbances, all rooms looking over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joncar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

A warm welcome greeted us as we arrived at the hotel. Swiftly through check in and up to our double room. Depending on what you are hoping for the room was modest in size but had everything you need for a stay. The en suite bathroom was lovely with a lovely deep bath and the little extras of shampoo and conditioner etc were a nice touch. Breakfast was super, a good selection was to be had... Ranging from light breakfasts to the full English (welsh?!!) which was cooked perfectly on both mornings. The waiting staff at breakfast time were friendly and bright and very helpful.
The location of the hotel was perfect and it had the added bonus of having its own parking area unlike some of the other places we considered in Brecon.
We will definitely stay again if our journeys take us back there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

For a town that has few hotels the Castle has, commendably, not become complacent about the lack of competition. Although there are some rough edges (probably the result of the economic situation) such as a few broken windows and the need for some paint it remains a comfortable hotel. The staff are fine (although why oh why the restaurant staff are east European and not locals defies belief) and welcoming. The public rooms are relaxing although they might get a bit crowded if the hotel were full. The bedroom was clean although the arrangement of the two twin beds was the result of the room’s shape. But it was OK even though the duvet and pillows were, I tough, a bit cheap and overly synthetic. Flat-screen TV with limited Freeview channels and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was fine with ample hot water but the shower was no more than adequate. Nice toiletries and the only discordant touch was the painfully cheap and tacky cabinet. The restaurant offered a decent menu that was competent rather than exceptional. The sashimi tuna as a starter was good even though the salad garnish was a little pedestrian. The lamb was not as tender as it could have been but was otherwise fine with a good selection of vegetables which were also ample in quantity. Breakfast was good with the usual suspects. You could help yourself to as much bacon and eggs and things as you liked but, surprise surprise, there was no extra charge for kippers or haddock nor the smoked salmon and scrambled egg that I had. And to my delight there as actually a nice lot of salmon. Overall then not a bad little hotel and one that I’d be happy to go back to even if I were paying myself. And, more importantly perhaps, one that I’d be happy to spend a few days at. I paid a discounted rate of £55 for bed and breakfast which was about right. The rack rate is about £80 which does seme a bit excessive though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPicard_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Castle Hotel on business. When I booked all the standard rooms were taken so I stayed on a more expensive Brecon View room (£120 B&B inc single occupancy supplement)
The room was lovely. Three large windows let in floods of daylight on two sides of the room and views across the town, river and surrounding hills were beautiful. The bed was large and very comfortable and the spacious bathroom was well equipped. My only slight criticism was that the white curtains let through a lot if light meaning the room was light as soon as the sun came up (I like a dark room and uninterrupted sleep until the alarm goes!)
Unfortunately an evening appointment made it impossible for me to eat in the hotel restaurant as I was out when food was being served. However the menu looked nice, though short on vegetarian options.
I did visit the bar late in the evening and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, comfortable seating, helpful staff and most happily of all, the wonderful selection of single malt whiskies.
Breakfast was fantastic and I left sorry to go.
If I have to visit again I'll be sure to book at the Castle.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenimGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
3.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Brecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Brecon

Property: Castle of Brecon
Address: Castle Square, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9DB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Brecon 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 40 bedrooms providing a variety of different types of accommodation. All rooms in the main hotel are individually decorated and offer LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. We will be happy to discuss your accommodation requirements and the type of room that would be most suitable for your needs. Our current prices are published here as a guide, please note that from time to time these will change to reflect local events. Standard Bedrooms from £87 Standard Family Bedrooms from £97 (based on 2 adults and 1 child) Superior Bedrooms from £107 Family Mews rooms from £157 (room only)( 2 adults and 2 Children) Walkers Mews rooms from £157 (room only) Beacons View Bedrooms from £137 Four Poster rooms £157 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle of Brecon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Of Brecon Hotel Brecon
Castle Hotel Brecon
Castle Of Brecon Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing