We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle of Brecon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle of Brecon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely few days here. The room was quiet and comfortable, the food excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the bar well stocked, the local scenery beautiful. Need I say more? Oh yes: ask about the history; The Castle is actually built on to - yes - a castle!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Sylv64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Castle of Brecon, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments. Glad you liked our lovely castle, see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    162
    50
    27
    19
See reviews for
75
198
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Cost data : Prebooked 86 pounds (Friday night) incl breakfast.

I have stayed in a few market towns too small to attract the large budget chains where the choice is usually a limited range of older style, slightly jaded, established small to medium sized hotels that have usually been around for ages. This hotel and this market town fall into this category.

There is nothing essentially wrong with this hotel, clean and reasonably comfortable in somewhat jaded surroundings. Simon, the front desk man, was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good (lovely crisp fried bread for the eggs - not had any for 4 years - doctor's orders - but a real treat ! )

To be honest, I think these market town hotels are a bit expensive (in this case,probably about 20 pounds too much) for what you get, but no real competition so take it or leave it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Castle of Brecon, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I am sorry you found some aspects of your stay with us not as expected. Thank you for your comments. Very glad you enjoyed you breakfast and the hospitality from our reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
139 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding and the reception was taking place at this hotel. The situation is charming, staff were very obliging and the wedding breakfast, a Hog Roast, which I'd never had before was really delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Castle of Brecon, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
You had the perfect weather for the hogroast and very pleased you enjoyed everything
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed on a Friday in June for a wedding. We arrived at the hotel first and had a light lunch on the patio which was delicious (steak sandwich and home made chips). The hotel were very accommodating in getting our room ready for us early so that we could change for the wedding. We then drove to the Church and came back to the hotel for the reception.

We were fortunate to have a beautiful sunny day and spent most of the day in the beautiful grounds with views to die for.

Our room was nice but very hot and I would probably upgrade to a better room next time I stay, which we will definately do.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious. I had the scrambled eggs (made fresh) and they were delicious. My husband said the bacon and saugage was delicious.

All in all a lovely stay and I am looking forward to returning for a night to sample their dinner menu.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Castle of Brecon, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Very kind comments and pleased you had a great time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary.

We decided to stay in the brecons view room for 3 nights which was clean, very comfortable and had a great view across brecon.

The reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helped me when I had questions about the area.

There was a good range of food and drink to select from and the kitchen was very informative about what was put in the food- great for those like me with a food intolerance.

But the Sunday carvery was by far the best eating as much as you want. It does get busy so book in advance.

The atmosphere was really nice and very calming, great for a relaxing break.

I will definitely be visiting again in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gills1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Castle of Brecon, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Very happy you had a lovely wedding anniversary break with us and we could help with your food requirements. Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed over for one night on our way home to Cornwall from visiting friends. We had a great welcome from reception on our arrival. Nothing was to much trouble as we arrived just before they were getting ready for serving evening bar meals the staff made us a sandwich and chips. The room was great with a lovely view. Breakfast was great loads to eat.

Room Tip: I think we were in room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1948Chrissy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Castle of Brecon, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A group of us stayed while taking part in a ten peak Brecon challenge.
The service was excellent. Very friendly and welcoming and the staff even took time to teach us the welsh pronunciation of mountains and villages.
Room was large and clean and after 9 hours in the mountains the shower was divine.

The kippers for breakfast were worthy of a song lyric.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Castle of Brecon, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Diolch yn fawr (dee-och unn vower) Thanks very much for your review and well done on completing the challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
3.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
8.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle of Brecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Brecon

Property: Castle of Brecon
Address: Castle Square, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9DB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle of Brecon 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 40 bedrooms providing a variety of different types of accommodation. All rooms in the main hotel are individually decorated and offer LCD TVs and tea & coffee making facilities. We will be happy to discuss your accommodation requirements and the type of room that would be most suitable for your needs. Our current prices are published here as a guide, please note that from time to time these will change to reflect local events. Standard Bedrooms from £87 Standard Family Bedrooms from £97 (based on 2 adults and 1 child) Superior Bedrooms from £107 Family Mews rooms from £157 (room only)( 2 adults and 2 Children) Walkers Mews rooms from £157 (room only) Beacons View Bedrooms from £137 Four Poster rooms £157 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle of Brecon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Of Brecon Hotel Brecon
Castle Hotel Brecon
Castle Of Brecon Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing