We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple beyond expectations !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penpont

Penpont
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penpont
Ranked #28 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple beyond expectations !”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just arrived back after a splendid time in Wales, The opportunity to stay at Penpont was amazing. As other reviewers say, rather keep it a secret as its to good to be true.

We stayed 5 nights on the riverside pitch and really loved the mentality and atmosphere of the place. Not only a great campsite, beautiful pitches, all quietness and green plus the friendliness of the other guests but also the grounds itself. We walked many evenings along the river, through the woods, crossing through the maze, looking at the vegetables in the walled garden and enjoying the history of the place. We even started reading up the whole history of the place through the website and this takes you back in times that whole other people we’re walking around here. The character you keep in the location really brings it alive. Also the Penpont organic shop is awesome, we cooked some nice dishes from that !

The facilities are clean, washing up area, showers and bathrooms all good and never waiting for your turn.

The area was great, we are garden en nature lovers so this was easy, walking the edges of Lyn fach Fan , waterfall routes and little farm shops in the area.

The people at Penpont are enthousiast, laidback and this creates a mutual trust and friendlyness between the guests and people working there.

Would definitly recomment this to people who love a quiet place, spacious greens and the organic and natural feeling of the camping !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank judibw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Although I would prefer to keep this campsite a secret, It wouldn't be fair. I felt like I was camping in a secret garden, beautiful surroundings, river, fire pits, wildlife and a laid back attitude which is very refreshing. I would have given it 5 stars, but 1 shower probably wouldn't cut it in school holidays.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank farrickerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-le-Woods, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I were married here in Oct 2013. Everyone who attended said the venue was perfect and gave an impressive but informal atmosphere. I stayed in the courtyard wing with my family the night before and spent our wedding night in the main house. We were made very welcome and received some help and suggestions from Penpont including Dave Goffee's impressive fire sculpture and fireworks. Obviously I'm biased when I say it was the best wedding venue I have ever been to but all my guests agreed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We only stayed for one night - a spur of the moment decision to make the most of the Bank Holiday - but we wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds are fantastic with plenty of space for camping, the facilities are excellent, and the owners are incredibly laid back and welcoming. Although we chose to pitch our tent away from the river - too many midges for us - we enjoyed a refreshing morning dip in its inviting waters. Definitely a camp site to return to!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greghory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We spent three days camping at Penpont and in all fairness it has the nicest camping facilities I have ever seen, the toilet and shower block is beautiful and very clean. The campsite itself is never crowded as they only allow 10 pitches at any one time... the campsite offers a variety of pitches so if you want a bit of seclusion its not a problem.

Camping is £7.50 per person per night which is a good price in my book..... we will definitely be going there again

don't forget your dingy for playing in the river!!

www.penpont.com

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaffHoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I rented a wing of this house for my family and two other families to share. It was an absolutely wonderful holiday and I can thoroughly recommend Penpont as a great place to stay and Gavin & Vina were lovely hosts.

I was initially a little worried as we had so many toddler children between us - as in the description, there were 'steep stairs' to navigate up, but actually it was fine. There were plenty of child gates on hand when we needed them, and the grounds were a haven for the kids. If they weren't exploring in the fields and by the stream, they were running around the glorious hedge maze or playing ball on the front lawn (or staring wide-eyed at the working tractors!)

The house itself had plenty of bathrooms for 3 families, and we managed to separate out the rooms and close them off very easily (eg when the babies were sleeping). The house was very clean and although the decor was a few years old and the kitchen not brand new, these things didn't matter - it was charming and cosy and we were very glad to be there.

Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay in the house but on the campsite . This is by far the best camp site (if you can call it that) I have been too . Secluded spots amongst the trees give privacy and right on the banks of the usk. The toilets / showers are clean and spider free unlike most other campsites and are more like loos from a really good pub! We recieved a warm welcome from the owners and were shown to our spot personally by davina. Haven't had the chance to explore due to the welsh weather but looks like there are Really pretty grounds all around us , and plenty of sheep :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrypoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
871 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
The Town House at Brecon
#11 of 44 in Brecon
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#7 of 44 in Brecon
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penpont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penpont

Property: Penpont
Address: Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8EU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Penpont Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing