We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably good B&B in a rather expensive town”
Review of The Beacons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beacons
Ranked #32 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2007

With at least 14 rooms, this B&B is really more of a small hotel. The building is an old farmhouse located very close to the centre of Brecon with a large car park at the rear.

We stayed in a family room on the second floor, which had one double and two single beds. The room itself was rather old-fashioned, but clean and the en-suite bathroom appeared to have been recently refurbished.

A good choice of breakfasts was served, but only between 8 and 9 on Sunday morning.

The family who run the B&B were approachable and friendly without being too pushy.

We requested a double room and paid £62. In many towns I'd be unhappy about paying this amount for a reasonable, but unremarkable B&B, but the rate seemed to be competitive for the area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank njpollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 89 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2007

For the money (£57 a double room) and the three stars we'd expected somewhere nice. Unfortunately our room was unclean with mould in the shower, a thick layer of dust on all the surfaces and didn't look like it had seen a vacuum cleaner in a long while. Also the tea cups hadn't been washed since the last guest. Very disappointing - there are nicer places to stay in Brecon for less money.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerwalker2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert1984, Manager at The Beacons, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2007

In relation to Travellerwalker2007:

We would like to say that none of the mentioned comments were brought to our attention during their stay although they were seen by the staff at breakfast and during the day. We were only informed on departure when they requested a refund/discount which that particular member of staff was not authorised to do.

With regard to pricing, we believe our prices are very competitive with regard other establishments in the area and that our prices have remained fixed for several years, we also offer lots of on site amenities such as having a large car park, pre-ordered packed lunches, guest laundry service and free wi-fi access . We are always on hand should any of our guests have any problems and that we are more than approachable to help solve them and that these comments are a extremely rare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2006

Nice place to stay - stands opposite Christ College boarding school grounds and is easy walking distance to town (city) centre (<5 mins). Charming family whose personalities made us feel welcome there (although we only had time to stay one night!). Felt well organised and you knew that if you needed anything extra, they would go the extra distance to help. Our little 18 month old even was offered a little go in the go-kart which belonged to the owner's son. Price seemed fine, pretty good, at £57 for double room.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rota_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#28 of 43 in Brecon
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#34 of 43 in Brecon
308 reviews
10.1 mi away
Castle Coaching Inn
Castle Coaching Inn
#16 of 43 in Brecon
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#13 of 43 in Brecon
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beacons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacons

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: £50 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beacons 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacons was once a riverside farm and the 17th Century barns and cottages still remain. The front part of the building was added in the early 1700's and the house has changed little - apart from modern comforts and decor. The original spiral staircase, moulded ceilings and even the meat cellar (now a cosy bar) all add to the character and atmosphere of this lovely home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beacons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beacons Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing