We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent B&B, but not out of the ordinary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beacons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beacons
Ranked #33 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very decent B&B, but not out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Two nights spent here in comfortable little room with dark bath/shower ensuite (shower could do with upgrading). Breakfast average. Convenient parking and very handy for the town centre. Landlady is an amusing character

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    26
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
12
35
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

This B&B although just 3 minutes walk from the town centre was easy to find and had their own car park. It's a lovely old building complete with creaking floorboards and our room even had an old brick chimney breast running through it. The bathroom was clean and quite spacious. The reception staff/ and owner were very friendly and helpful giving us tips on where to visit in the area. Breakfast was freshly cooked with a choice of hot or cold. You made your own toast so could have as much as you wanted. The downside was that when I went to make a cup of tea the teapot was still half full of cold tea from the previous user and has not been washed out. There were lots of rules and regulations in the hotel some of which I felt were not necessary.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynmarie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Why did we need a toilet with instructions "Only Poo, Pee and Paper" -absolutely childish. Woman owner very unwelcoming. Too many rules eg no food or drink allowed in rooms - corkage would be charged for wine bought outside the guest house. What century do they live in. Won't be going there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconsGH16, Manager at The Beacons, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Many thanks for taking time to write a review. The reason we have signs in some of the bathrooms is due to having toilets with saniflo macerator systems, therefore we have to make people aware that you can not just put anything down them as they will then block or need replacing which is expensive to do so. In regard of food and corkage, you are welcome to bring food back and we have a dining room which you can eat this in and we also have a bar therefore are able to buy drinks from us.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have just returned from a lovely break at The Beacons. From the moment we arrived to the time we left I was touched by the fantastic friendly service that we enjoyed. Having never stayed at a traditional B and B before, I was impressed with the welcome that we recieved from Stephen, - warm and friendly, even though we had turned up after the reception had closed. We booked a small double with en suite facilities, and this was exactly what we got. But for £58.00 per night incl. breakfast, I thought it was excellent value for money. The room was clean - the double was a normal size and was comfortable as well. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, although some people have mentioned that 8 - 9am is quite tight with regards to not having a long lie in but, it was quite good in a way because it meant we got up had breakfast and didnt waste any of the day!! - The waitress was polite, food was fresh and the portions were perfect. - there was also a good selection of continental offerings as well that you could help yourself to.
There is a wide variety of marketing collateral from the local tourist boards and attractions in the hallway, which was useful as it gave us a better understanding of what was on offer should we tire of walking and climbing.
We stayed for two nights, and had a hire car - one of the big positives of this guest house is that they have a car park in the back of the hotel, which was reassuring as it meant we had somewhere safe and private to park our car.
As we left, we had a personal send off from the owners and they seemed genuinely interested in how are trip went.
In conculsion I would absolutely stay at The Beacons again and would definately reccomend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vf1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Sayed for 2 nights at this bed and breakfast, we were given a warm welcome by the owner. We were shown to our room on the first floor, our first impressions were good but i must say the room did smell a bit stale. It had a good sized bathroom and a good shower, although it would have been nice if there were a few toiletries in the bathroom as other B&Bs do. The bed was very comfortable and we had good nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent, choice of cereals and coffee, you made your own toast. My husband had a cooked breakfast which was well cooked and I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was delicious, the next day I ordered poached eggs which were cooked to perfection. I would stay at this B&b again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superwoman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconsGH16, Manager at The Beacons, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will visit us again in the future, regards, Beacons Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a lovely place to stay. I felt very welcome there and it has a great homey atmosphere. Stephen and Melanie go out of their way to make sure you have everything you could ever need. I stayed for 10 days and would do it again. where's a private car park so you do have to be concerned about that and private entrances on some of the rooms. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anybody. I had friends that stayed in two of the better known hotels in town and they had nothing but issues.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We did arrive late on a Sat. nite, around 21.30, after a long drive from Bedford, checked in to our 3rd floor family room in the attic, ceilings too low for me and room a bit smelly. We went out for a bite to eat and returned around 23.00hrs, front door closed (we were told earlier this may be the case) so used rear entrance with uneven ground and poor lighting. Poor nites sleep,that's just me tho, struggled in shower due to lack of height of ceiling. I loaded the car as my partner went to dining room to sit for breakfast, she was told off for sitting at the wrong table, plenty of toast, cereals, coffee and juices, but the cooked breakfasts could have been better. When finally checking out, the lady of the house tried to have a conversation with our daughter with little response, to which she responded, she would give her own kids a slap if they were that ignorant - not the comment to give to paying guests. Would we go back ? no chance, while she still runs it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OSPREY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brecon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.4 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#8 of 44 in Brecon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#7 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flag and Castle House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beacons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacons

Property: The Beacons
Address: 16 Bridge Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beacons 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacons was once a riverside farm and the 17th Century barns and cottages still remain. The front part of the building was added in the early 1700's and the house has changed little - apart from modern comforts and decor. The original spiral staircase, moulded ceilings and even the meat cellar (now a cosy bar) all add to the character and atmosphere of this lovely home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Beacons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beacons Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing