We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tasting Indian - Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rajpoot Indian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rajpoot Indian Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 67 Restaurants in Brecon
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tasting Indian - Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Can be a long wait if they are busy - but they will usually let you know. Good food, competative pricing. Our local takeaway of choice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comedy waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

found one night after work. waiter is funny but can possibly see why people dislike him food is good and always hot. have been a couple of times with other lads from site and if im back again i will visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTapDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truely dreadful food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Holidaying in Breacon with another couple, we fancied a curry and thought we would try the Rajpoot. Big mistake! We ordered some drinks and poppadoms then we waited, and we waited. - an hour went by and we had to ask for them to clear the table, more drinks and what had happened to our dinner. It wasn't busy. There were only two other tables taken in the restaurant but we noticed that a few people had come in to collect take-aways and these were taking preference over us. Finally, after some sharp words, when we were about to leave, food began to arrive - not all at once, some slopped over the side of the dishes and I thought the naan bread wouldn't materialise at all.

For a Friday night out it was poor service with barely an apology, stressful and disappointing. The food itself was bland and the lamb passanda was almost inedible with gristle and sinew throughout.

We were given a 10% discount and probably should have only paid half, if that! I've never had an evening like it and hope that I don't experience have to ever again. I wish I had read reviews before choosing a curry house. The other one around the corner was perfectly fine when we visited last year. So much for ringing the changes!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

They only had one bottle of white wine in the place because they had been busy the week before! The food wasn't great and it was easy to understand why there was only one other couple eating and I know they weren't local because they were in our b&b - would be very surprised if the locals use this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 100JudyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defynnog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Money stealers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Terrible experience, sat down for a meal with all the family,only to find out that they helped them selves to a little bit extra on my credit card. PAY CASH ONLY,OR DONT BOTHER GOING

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lowri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rajpoot Indian Restaurant also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Rajpoot Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing