We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay, will deffo be back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tai'r Bull Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tai'r Bull Country Inn
Ranked #14 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great stay, will deffo be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

My partner and I wanted somewhere to stay for the night for his birthday. We scoured the internet for a couple of hours to find somewhere where we wanted to stay. We came across the Tai'r Bull Country Inn. We booked the 'Romance' room just as we were about to leave, as its took us 2 hours to get here. There were no problems at all. We were greeted by friendly staff. The pub had a lovely warm and cosy feel to it, with a few of the locals too. We knew this pub was a loved one, by the owners and by the locals. We both had the steak, it was cooked to perfection and not shy portions either! Desert was also fabulous. The room was clean and beautifully decorated, along with the bathroom. Warm and cosy, lovely for this time of year! Beautiful location. We are looking forward to returning in the near future but next time it will be for more than just one night!! Definitely a great recommendation to others!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanneamy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
26
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mid glamorgan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

we stayed at Bull for five days in october.The rooms were spotless and very homely and we were made very welcome.We were starving after a full days walk and the food was delicious.The views were amazing.Nothing was too much trouble!We'll definately be booking again:)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariaMidGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treorchy, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed here a few months back and couldn't wait to return, Helen and the girls have most defo been keeping themselves very busy, so much has been decorated in the place agen making it more cosy and homely, (didn't think it was possible) superb meal and a few large wines made my night amazing as always, room was "lush" and warm just what we needed on these cold nights and woke up to a frosty pen y van :) beautiful, highly recommend the place. Well done Helen and the team xx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We rode from London. We were tired and exhausted and wet. We had a booking for two rooms and did not knew what to except. From the time we got inside we just loved it. Its nice and cosy. The manger took us to our room with a tea set and biscuit and smile on her face. The room was fantastic. The sheet was clean and well made bed. Smelled nice too. Bathroom clean and tidy. and it just keeps getting better. All room are uniquely design and with different concept. The view from my room was just orgasmic. I could not believe how nice the place was.
Then the pub is super nice, with super friendly people (may be all Welsh people are friendly). We had drinks and they were good priced. The Manager is such a sweet lady. We had such a relax and lovely evening. We requested breakfast to be served in the bed. And I have to say, was probably the best breakfast ever ;-) . The bed was so nice, I probably had the best sleep after a long time. Oh ya and the shower, its so power full I thought the water came from top of the mountain.
The point is, on such a beautiful remote place to have such a friendly, cosy, clean accommodation, I think its an Oasis. Most of the time I indulge myself with 4* and 5*, but I find this as good if not better. I lost my heart in this little place, I need to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bikke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Low Head, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at this Inn in July '11 while trekking in the Brecon Beacons. The room was very clean, beautifully decorated and had lovely atmosphere and views. The new owners were very friendly and the service was efficient. Our breakfast was humongous, well cooked and very delicious, a great feast before a day of trekking. The evening was spent chatting to the locals and there was a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere. I would highly recommend this inn to both trekkers and those people looking for a good inn meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliceCr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay-on-Wye
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We really loved our stay at the Tai'r Bull. The room was clean and tastefully decorated with a brand new shower in the bathroom. We had an amazing view of Pen y Fan and the Brecon Beacons from our window, which inspired us to take a walk up to the summit which was well worth the effort! Libanus is the perfect location for exploring the National Park and has the added bonus of having the National Park Visitor Centre on it's doorstep. Helen and her staff were very friendly and were helpful in answering all our questions. The food in the bar/restaurant is also of a high standard and I highly recommend their Mixed Grill. I would recommend this place to walkers in particular.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
6.7 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
6.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
14.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai'r Bull Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai'r Bull Country Inn

Property: Tai'r Bull Country Inn
Address: Libanus, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:3 star — Tai'r Bull Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a five en-suite bedroom public house with restaurant. We have free wi fi We have beautiful views of pen y fan mountain, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tai'r Bull Country Inn Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing