We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've ever stayed at!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge Brecon B&B
Ranked #1 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best B&B we've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Although new to running a B&B, Steve and Bronwyn are the perfect couple to be in this line of work... I wouldn't even say that for them it was work. They both love having people around and accommodating your every need.

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and we can honestly say that it has the perfect balance of being well presented and feeling homely.

We found The Lodge quite easy to find using the postcode on the website and it was very clearly marked on the road. On arrival, we were greeted by Bronwyn, who showed us in and to our room. The B&B provides a good source of local knowledge as well as surplus guides and brochures for visiting points of interest right across the Brecon Beacons. After settling in and planning our evening, we decided to leave and met Steve on our way out who was also very welcoming. We had a great evening and had no problems letting ourselves in when we got back. In the morning, we were again greeted by Steve and Bronwyn for breakfast and we're offered a selection of cereal, fruit juices, tea, coffee and most importantly - the cooked breakfast. The whole process of checking in and out was very smooth and we were so impressed with how accommodating and helpful Steve and Bronwyn were.

If we ever needed to stay in Brecon again, we'd stay here without hesitation and would recommend this to anyone staying in or near Brecon.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sumochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
145
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a great B&B - we had only booked for a night but wished that we could have stayed longer.The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was huge and very comfortable. Had a great night's sleep and breakfast was delicious. There are fantastic views of the Brecon Beacons from the breakfast room.

We parked our car at the B&B and did a walk up in the hills. The B&B is also within easy walking distance of the Swan Inn in the village which does very good food.

Bronwen and Steve are friendly and relaxed and made us feel very welcome. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again.

- Steph and Ned

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just returned from a night at the Lodge and wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay. The location is superb - the view from room and the breakfast room is breathtaking. The room was spotlessly clean and very quiet and had the most comfortable bed we've slept in! The breakfast was lovely - freshly prepared and very filling. We wish Bronwyn and Steve all the best with their venture - they deserve to do well because they are lovely hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Came back feeling totally relaxed... we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroth, Pembrokeshire, Wales UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This has to be the best B & B to date. Bronwyn and Steve are wonderful hosts, nothing was too much bother for them, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the breakfast lasted us most of the day whilst cycling! They are perfectly positioned for cycling/walking the Monmouth Brecon Canal or the Brecon Beacons, and the views from the B & B are breathtaking.

Peter and Lucy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrothPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here recently with friends and as someone who travels a lot with work I could not recommend it more highly.

The peaceful location made for a great night's sleep and the view of the Beacons from my comfortable and clean room was a perfect start to the day. The hosts were very friendly and full of great recommendations for places to eat and drink in the local area, all of which exceeded expectation!

The breakfast was also excellent and even as a muddy mountain-biker I was welcomed every night, given somewhere to lock away my kit, and even provided with a packed lunch before setting out on my next adventure!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Portsmouth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I can only echo the other positive comments made. The location is second to none, the view of the Brecon Beacons is amazing! Watching the sheep being herded by the sheepdog in the field out of bedroom number 1 was great as well. It's very quiet and relaxing. The B&B is spotless, despite the walkers and cyclists they get putting mud everywhere. There were three of us and two were cycling. The bikes could be washed down and locked away which was great. The rooms were a good size, very comfortable beds and modern. Steve and Bronwyn are genuinely interested in all of their guests and will help with where to visit, eat etc... Breakfast was excellent, very very well cooked with quality ingredients. The boys mentioned they would have liked black pudding as an option, but I'm sure their waistlines didn't miss it!

They are in the process of adding a fourth bedroom which I'm sure will be a great addition and needed as they have a steady stream of guests. The only other suggestion aside from black pudding would be Wi-Fi as it's really useful for looking up and walking/cycling routes/local pubs etc...

Food wise in the area Bronwyn and Steve can make recommendations which will all be spot on. We went to Gurka Corner, The Three Horseshoes and The Bear. They were all good and we'd go back but The Three Horseshoes was an outstanding pub with great food and atmosphere.

Best of luck with the B&B. We plan on coming back next year. x

Room Tip: Room one is the biggest but there other two are a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shallottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwyn F, Owner at The Lodge Brecon B&B, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, really appreciate them and hope we do see you again next year! Just to let you know we do have free wifi in all areas. I have included this in the folder now as other guests also may not have realised. Thank you for highlighting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We had room 1 which had a very comfortable bed and good views. Breakfast was tasty and freshly prepared. Steve and Bronwen even gave my mother a birthday card, very kind. We hope that Bronwen has her italian meal on their anniversary.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Madison100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
0.9 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
905 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
109 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
355 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 43 in Brecon
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Brecon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Brecon B&B

Property: The Lodge Brecon B&B
Address: Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Lodge Brecon B&B Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing