We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Much more spacious than I expected”
other travellers have booked this property
Your group of self catering cottages.(Groups Max 12)
Perfect for 3 Generations/Reunions/Get together
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your group of self catering cottages.(Groups Max 12)
Perfect for 3 Generations/Reunions/Get together
Your Communal room with large kitchen for All your Group to gather./Chair covers are now Plain/Cream Your Communal room - perfect for socialising/Chair covers now Plain Cream in colour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Your group of self catering cottages.(Groups Max 12)
Perfect for 3 Generations/Reunions/Get together
Your Communal room with large kitchen for All your Group to gather./Chair covers are now Plain/Cream
Your Communal room - perfect for socialising/Chair covers now Plain Cream in colour.
Cilwych Farm Cottages - your own self contained barn
Breathraking Scenery
Beautifully peaceful and quiet - the tractor is your only likely traffic
Superking or can be split into twin beds in the Dairy
The Kitchen area of Stables 2
Dining area of Stables 2
Kitchen Diner in The Granary - cosy for 2
Large sitting room with separate kitchen and dining room in Stables 1
Comfortable sitting room in the Dairy
Double room in the Dairy
Shower room in the Dairy
Twin room in Stables 1
Superking Twins and singles. Superb bed comfort. and space
Downstairs single in Stables 2
Your outside space perfect for al fresco dining and kicking a ball around. Freedom for all.
WALES and its beauty.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bushynose...
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much more spacious than I expected”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Four roomy cottages and a lovely big area with its own kitchen where we could all hang out. Everything was clean and comfortable. Plenty of chairs for everyone. I loved the location with beautiful hill views. Great location for long walks and going on a train ride. Perfect for our family gathering - people could have their own space or join in as they wished.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lots of space for playing and also having quiet time
Liked least: we couldn't bring our cat!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryBTW2
Twickenham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal for a family gathering!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Thirteen of us stayed in the cottages over the last weekend of September to celebrate a 70th birthday. We all really enjoyed our stay and the cottages easily surpassed our expectations in terms of comfort and amenities. We breakfasted separately in our own cottages, then ate dinner together each evening in the communal room. It was so congenial that we didn't actually make it to any of the local pubs. We were lucky with the weather, too, and spent time outside drinking tea (and g&t) on the grass. Highly recommended and great value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The independence of individual cottages combined with communal space.
Liked least: One member of the party was slightly less keen on the wetroom in Stables 2 than the other bathrooms - but that was a personal view..
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeyfiel...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed here with friends and had a lovely stay..great position in Brecon to explore the sights and brilliant walks..especially the local pubs!
Accommodation is clean and comfortable and the communal room with its roaring log fire is a great place to meet up and unwind.
All in all a fantastic place to explore this beautiful part of the world...would recommend and stay again...J&S

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksGues...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mid Week Break !”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here with friends in October for a few days and although the weather wasn't the best we all had a great time. The cottages are spacious and very clean, however, when we were there we spent most time in the communal cottage which has an open 'real' fire. The local pub is only a 30 minute wander down the village and the food & scrumpy were excellent. WE WILL BE GOING BACK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Outdoors
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckingha...
Torquay
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another relaxing stay in these lovely cottages”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This is our second stay in these lovely cottages with a group of friends. Its ideal for large groups as you have your own cottage with both a kitchen and living area and then can get together with friends in the communal room which has comfortable chairs, dining and kitchen area. The surrounding countryside is breathtaking, your nearest neighbours are farmers, pheasants, sheep and horses! A walk to the local pub is a must and numerous mountain, canal and river walks for the keen rambler. Unfortunately the weather was not on our side but didn't stop our enjoyment of both the countryside and local towns of Abergavenny, Crickowell and Hay-on-Wye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open fires, location,
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joobeloo
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab for Large Groups”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Really enjoyed our long weekend at Cilwych Farm. The property was ideal for a large group of friends with so much room, we really didn't make use of half of the facilities available.

We arrived late Friday night, to warm and welcoming cottages. I had pre-arranged a Tesco delivery to arrive after our planned arrival time, which worked out great and managed to welcome the rest of our friends with the fire in the communal area lit (wood for the 1st night is provided) and pizzas cooking in the oven.

Location wise, it's around 1.5 miles from 2 pubs serving food and there is a farm shop around the corner.

It is located on a working farm, with outbuildings that can be seen from the windows, which didn't bother us, just depends on what people expect. This also means that pets are not allowed.

The bathrooms in some of the cottages were a tad basic I would say, but overall fine for our requirements - we just used the ones in the other cottages. I would also bring lots of 50 pence coins if you need to use the Dryer a lot - as we did. There was no additional charge for anything apart from the Dryer though - Wifi for example was free.

If you are looking for really flexible accommodation with lots of space you really can't do wrong and the price split between a group was very reasonable too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amount of flexible space was amazing
Liked least: Some of the Bathrooms were a tad dated
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C
Chiddingfold, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

12 of us rented all the cottages for a long weekend mountainbiking in the Brecon Beacons. Couldnt have been better. Lovely location and views. Great cottages all very well equiped, clean and comfortable. The communal room and kitched was perfect with open fire, loads of armchairs and sofas and big table where we could all sit and eat together. Karen was delightful to deal with. We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing