We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place, great location for hiking and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Your group of self catering cottages.(Groups Max 12)
Perfect for 3 Generations/Reunions/Get together
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your group of self catering cottages.(Groups Max 12)
Perfect for 3 Generations/Reunions/Get together
Your Communal room with large kitchen for All your Group to gather./Chair covers are now Plain/Cream Your Communal room - perfect for socialising/Chair covers now Plain Cream in colour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Your group of self catering cottages.(Groups Max 12)
Perfect for 3 Generations/Reunions/Get together
Your Communal room with large kitchen for All your Group to gather./Chair covers are now Plain/Cream
Your Communal room - perfect for socialising/Chair covers now Plain Cream in colour.
Cilwych Farm Cottages - your own self contained barn
Breathraking Scenery
Beautifully peaceful and quiet - the tractor is your only likely traffic
Superking or can be split into twin beds in the Dairy
The Kitchen area of Stables 2
Dining area of Stables 2
Kitchen Diner in The Granary - cosy for 2
Large sitting room with separate kitchen and dining room in Stables 1
Comfortable sitting room in the Dairy
Double room in the Dairy
Shower room in the Dairy
Twin room in Stables 1
Superking Twins and singles. Superb bed comfort. and space
Downstairs single in Stables 2
Your outside space perfect for al fresco dining and kicking a ball around. Freedom for all.
WALES and its beauty.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bruce S
Hamilton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great location for hiking and enjoying Welsh countryside”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A large group of university students from the US had a wonderful 2-day stay at Cilwych Farm. Ideally located for hiking the nearby paths on the Brecon-Monmouthshire Canal, and the hills to the south (including Tor y Foel), this is great place for a close encounter with rural Wales, with comfortable, cozy lodging.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location for hiking
Liked least: The drive over the bridge from Llangynidr (a challenge, but still fun)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you all it was great to see you all having such a good time in our Welsh countryside, we love to share Wales with you all as we feel we do have something special, space countryside and lovely cottages where you can all enjoy your own space within the holiday complex,feel relaxed free and close to all that is good in the countryside,yet close to all amenities with easy access off the main roads.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwma1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value, comfortable accommodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A group of us went away for our annual trip, and Cilwych was one of the few places that could take a group of 12 and remain affordable.

The accommodation is split into three cottages, with a communcal kitchen/dining/living area in the middle - all forming into a lovely horse-shoe. The split accommodation turned out to be very popular, as it gave everyone the opportunity to split away from the main group and get some peace if needed (each cottage had a living area/kitchen/bathroom too).

The communal area had plenty of seating and had enough crockery and glassware for everyone. The open fire was great, as long as you remember to go down to the shop for supplies.

The location is beautiful, surrounded by rolling green hills and by mountains in the distance. A short walk will take you to a lovely old bridge and village, with a local shop and a pub nearby.

Overall, the property was comfortable, clean, great value and in a lovely location; so I would recommend for big groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The only part I didn't like was the lack of soap/adequate toilet rolls/towels. However, a trip to the shop sorted that.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review,and for being a wonderful group to share and enjoy what we have here in Wales,we love where we live and without people like yourselves we could not keep everything in the countryside alive and economically viable..Please come again..Thank You.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for a large group who want to join together but also have some personal space.”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This holiday cottage complex was perfect for our family , 13 adults, five children under 4 years of age. The communal lounge and kitchen great for joining together for meal times and general getting together . However it was good that each family could escape to their 'own' cottage, with their 'own' kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms at night .
The baby monitors were in range so that the 'adults' could enjoy an evening meal together in peace. Our two dogs were housed in an excellent local kennels. We had the best of both worlds, freedom from the dogs but also a lovely day out walking with them.
We felt comfortable with the decor/ furniture ....lovely but not to perfect ....good with young children around.
Definitely would go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The easy access to each cottage and communal lounge
Liked least: Poor outside lighting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here on Cilwych,we do love having families,as you say so much of your own space.Thank you also for mentioning the lighting which is now sorted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne293
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

As a group of 9, it was lovely to have our own rooms, plenty of space but also to be able to use the lovely communal dining/sitting room. The cottages were very comfortable and nicely furnished in rustic style. The location was perfect for us - near the big walks (The Horseshoe, for example) but also really nice walking from the door. We will definitely be coming back.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
It was wonderful to see your walking group so enthusiastic and happy with our Venue.

Thank you all and see you all again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation for the Brecons”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just got back from a stay at Cilwych Farm Cottages in the Brecon Beacons. There were 15 members of our family going away to celebrate a 60th Birthday and to tackle the infamous Fan Dance.

The accomodation was absolutely perfect and we are already looking to book again. Every part of the accomodation is high quality from the cooking appliances to the crockery to the mattresses. There is lots of room whether you all want to be together or if you need time alone.

The age range of guests was from 6 years old to 60 years old and every single one of us loved our stay.

The owners seemed flexible and did everything they could to ensure our stay was perfect.

If you are going to the Brecons you won't find better than the Cilwych Farm Cottages in Brecon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcmd85
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent choice for meeting with your friends!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cilwych Cottages is a recommended option for any group occasion. Set within the rolling hills of the Brecon Park, the farm cottages provide extensive space to catch up comfortably with ample facilities for a large group. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and had a reassuring farm house feel. The garden at the rear of the cottages was excellently kept and was a real gem on a sunny day.

The owner and staff were always polite and were flexible to accommodate my needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard cottage in beautiful surrondings
Liked least: TV's need updating to more modern standards
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O
Faringdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous location, great property to bring a group of old friends together”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A group of old university friends booked the 4 cottages and communal dining/lounge area for a reunion. The property combined a fabulous location - we were able to walk up the hill from the back of the property, with good communal facilities for friends to cook, eat and chat, but had separate cottages to allow us all to chill out when we needed to. Short walk/drive to the nearest village for shop and pub. Short drive to walk in the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons. The owners were friendly and welcoming as were the two black labradors. We used the cooking facilities a lot over the long weekend and our only criticism was about the available kitchen utensils - we would have liked sharp knives and a cafetiere. Our friends who stayed in the property with the wet room commented that they would have preferred a bath with shower attachment. Otherwise this was an excellent weekend and would recommend the properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and flexibility of the separate proerty units
Liked least: One bathroom needs upgrading
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing