We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful, amazing scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt
Maidstone
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Restful, amazing scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed two nights in a family room …two sets of bunk beds. The room was very clean. Small but adequate. The staff were friendly. There was a games room for reading, playing draughts and chess etc
Fantastic scenery and a waterfall a few miles up the road Not too hard to find but it could have been signposted better.
Great to have hot breakfast and other meals if needed. Lovely area …no crowds!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff were really friendly and exceptionally helpful. We were part of a larger collection of families, the staff were all fantastic and worked hard to feed us all at the same time. The food was varied and delicious.

Youth hostels a great family destinations with rooms to accommodate the whole family with a private bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I didn't stay here but did have lunch.

The lady on duty was very friendly and chatty. Her homemade vegetable soup was fantastic, and the baguette it came with was very fresh and seemed to still be warm from the oven. She also gave us a free shot of her homemade gingerbread syrup in our coffee which was divine. The pricing is so cheap, a top notch latte for only 1.70!

The location is very nice and this is certainly a place I would like to come back to stay a few nights.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hatsumomo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni B, Manager at YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for the review, Jo does make great coffee. See you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Such a friendly atmosphere, great facilities and very relaxed.
We camped the night and were very pleased with being able to use their separate camping kitchen.
Great location for walks. Availability for short and long walks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great little hostel tucked away above Talybont-on-Usk. Idea for Taff Trail or exploring Brecon Beacons NP. Local pubs and excellent cafe within walking distance (2miles). Hostel offers evening meals and breakfast in a lovely 'compact' dining area plus there is a cosy lounge. Very friendly and helpful stuff, basic facilities but clean, warm and in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshiefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni B, Manager at YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for the review, we opened the Café here at Danywenallt this weekend. If you have any suggestion on how we can improve our bedroom facilities please let us know.
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

First of all the place is good for walkers and cyclists.
2.The problem we had was unpleasant helpless staff. We walked for 9 hours through a blizzard with 20kilos bags, came down and asked for a bed. Firstly they said ok, started to sorting everything out but then some man came and said that actually there's no room for us and we need to camp and we should be happy because those are last two available places(28 pounds with breakfast for 2 people). Well, we had one tent and there was no other people camping as the weather was really horrible that night. On the next day, people that were staying in the hostel were surprised that we have stayed in the tent, and one woman said that there was a free bed in her room.
3. In the morning a group of school kids came down, after their breakfast woman from the kitchen asked other people in the restaurant waiting if they would like a breakfast with fresh eggs now.
4. I have been given a standard breakfast, I'm vegetarian, they said sorry for forgetting to ask while they were booking me in.
5.I've asked the woman from the hostel if she could help me to find a nearest bus stop but she gave me a useless leaflet instead(and that took her more than an hour). The only reason we were refused a room I presume that my brother didn't had any ID with him.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roboworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni B, Manager at YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The night you stayed the only spare bed we had was in the female dormitory. I can understand why you felt let down by the team here, the lady who was working on reception that night had only been working at the hostel for 1 week and made a mistake when reading the computer screen.
I will be looking in to how we can improve the Breakfast for all guests when we have a mixture of people staying.
Andy the manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night when walking in the Brecon Beacons, excellent food and the staff were all lovely. The evening meal was delicious and the breakfast and packed lunch kept us going on the hills.
Great value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni B, Manager at YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks for the reviews, come back and see us in the summer
Andy, The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
4.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
YHA Brecon Beacons
YHA Brecon Beacons
#1 of 1 in Libanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt

Property: YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt
Address: Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by wooded slopes, high peaks, waterfalls and trails, this lovely converted farmhouse makes an ideal rural retreat for a family holiday, school trip or activity break in Wales. Secluded? Yes, but with all the opportunities for walking, cycling and horse riding you'll always have plenty to do. Most rooms have private facilities, there's a comfortable lounge and a fully-licensed catering service specialising in local produce and flavours. Full self catering kitchen with gas hob, oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, washing up basins and including all crockery and cutlery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Brecon Beacons Danywenallt Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing