We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

royalblue...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding cottage, for those wanting to be cut off from the world”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is absolutely sublime, in idyllic surroundings, and ideally located for Hay, Brecon, and the Beacons. It has been an excellent base of operations during the week of the Hay Festival. Unfortunately I cannot recommend the cottage for anyone who wants to remain connected with the outside world during their stay. Internet connectivity and mobile phone reception are terrible - even within the house, the wireless signal only reaches to certain rooms. After two days of attempted use our party was contacted by the owners to tell us that we were in danger of exceeding their monthly internet limit, which seems absurd. Other small problems include poor shower drainage and the fact that some exterior doors do not lock, putting valuables in potential danger. Having said all of this, however, I would return to Baddegai in a heartbeat if these problems were seen to. It is a marvellous place to unwind.

Date of stay: May 2014
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2014
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Baddegai, had a great week at the Hay Festival and that you would recommend the cottage to a friends.

I am sorry that you found the internet and phone issues such a problem.
As we are too far away from a BT exchange, we have to get our internet from a satellite dish for which I pay a monthly subscription. The cottage is regularly full all month and we rarely have issues with going over the limit of our broadband capacity. As I explain in the email that I send guests before they arrive and in the guest information booklet in the house, if you stick to checking and responding to emails and looking online for details of visitor attractions then there will be no problem. If however you try to live stream or download large amounts of data then this will quickly eat in to the broadband supply. The few times we have had a problem before it always seems to be when there are teenagers staying who seem to find it impossible to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and would rather be on their computers playing games which seems a terrible shame.
There is nothing we can do about the mobile signal - I have looked in to getting a booster but they are not compatible with broadband from a satellite. I have a vodafone mobile and can get a signal in the drive but other guests have told me that Orange works in the house. We do have a landline for incoming calls and emergency phone calls.

I phoned you twice during your stay, once on the Saturday morning after your arrival on the Friday afternoon and once on the Tuesday morning when I had received the email from the broadband company to tell me that you had used 44% of the monthly quota since the Friday.
On both occasions I asked you if everything was ok at the house - I wish you had mentioned the problem with the shower or the back door and I would have got someone out immediately to sort it all out. In the short amount of time (5 hours) between changeovers occasionally things do get missed and so we do have to rely on feedback from guests regarding issues which we shall then rectify at the earliest possible time.

I have contacted the broadband company and I can buy a temporary increase to the high speed data allowance via a Volume Booster top up for £10 per 1 GB of data. I am now going to offer this to guests in case they need to work whilst they are away and therefore need a larger broadband allowance.

I hope that you would therefore consider returning to Baddegai at a future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpoole198...
1 review
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Firstly I would like to explain, I hesitated to publish this review as I wanted to keep this place a secret escape, but I later realised I was being selfish as all should experience baddegai cottage.

We stayed here 27/12/13 to 3/1/14, upon arrival we were stuned by the beauty and characteristics of this property, owners annabel and steve had made huge efforts top ensure we were welcomed appoperiately leaving a bottle of wine, lovely note wishing us a happy new year, if I say they had made the property very comfortable and warm it would be an under statement.

The property was exeptionally clean, and well equipt, you literally need nothing other thank food and drink. The cottage is perfect for dogs, however you would never notice animal had been there, the paddock and grounds were clean and safe. The visitors book was well documented and contained excellent review dating back to 2011, it seems many revisit baddegai, in face whilst we were there we emailed the owners and booked again for june and december of 2014.

In terms of phone signal we had a variety of networks and had no problem in picking up signal if placing the mobile against the window were the house phone is located (the only network that does not pick up is vodafone).

Baddegai is really 5star quality, it mainly rained during our stay however the property and its surroundings were so breathtaking this was not a problem.

Kitchen is stunning and clean and well equipt, ownerd made booking easy. Beds are comfortable.

We could not have asked for any more, and I can not reccomend baddegai enough !!

Date of stay: December 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiltonCou...
Ross on Wye, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Stayed recently for a friends reunion it could not have been more perfect . The cottage has been recently refurbished to a very high standard with all mod cons . The accommodation is spacious throughout, large kitchen , dining area, utility room, separate lounge with wall mounted flat screen TV, Wi Fi ample parking and huge outside terrace with barbecue. The four en suite bedrooms all have super king zip and link beds.The cottage nestles in a sheltered position with a view of the surrounding hills , yet only a short drive in to Brecon. The owners have details of excursions and had arranged a motor cruiser for us on the Brecon and Monmouth canal would thoroughly recommend this excursion it was brilliant . We will be recommending this gem to all our friends and hope to return again with more friends.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeeJay346
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful spacious house stunning location”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Stayed here with family - parents - grandparents - children and dog.
Plenty of space to do your own thing, well equipped, comfortable. big garden. Great walks from the front door plenty to see and do in the area. Highly reccommended would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space and seclusion
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELSHLADY...
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning luxury country cottage and location!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed for a long weekend celebrating a specual birthday with family! 6 adults, 2 2 year olds and a 16 month! Cottage was plenty big enough with very large double rooms with ensuits! Beautiful surrounds and views! Lovely walks. The cottage has everything and more for the perfect holiday stay!
We can't wait to visit again!
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazzda
1 review
“Fabulously comfortable in a private location.”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed here for the week over Christmas 2012. 4 adults + 2 children (11 years + 9 years). It's a very well equipped and comfortable house with plenty of space so that everyone can do their own thing. Brecon town is a ten minute drive.

Date of stay: December 2012
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful house in a secluded peaceful spot.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We where a party of six adults, an infant and a large dog, the weather was very cold but the house provided an excellent place to stay, being large enough to have your own space and well heated. A very comfortable and welcoming house, well equipped and furnished, all of us would love to return there. It's position is ideal for the walkers, historic sites and a number of excellent eating places. It would be even better with kinder weather, utilising the garden,BBQ etc.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, location,warmth during the icy conditions.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.