We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage,wonderful area.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pentwyn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

_sheila_h...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage,wonderful area.”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a good week here 28th August to 3rd September2016. The weather was great ,warm and mostly sunny.
The cottage was comfortable, clean and well equipped.
The owner Barbara went above and beyond as when I asked if I could borrow a sun lounger to further enjoy the weather,she went out and within the hour came back with a brand new one. What a star!
Walks along the nearby canal with our dog was an added bonus.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
So pleased you had good weather and enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW3232
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfy cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here recently for a week, it's a lovely cottage in a beautiful setting, very quiet. The cottage is well equipped and although the cottage is just in front of the owners own home it's still very private and you're left alone unless you need call on them.
We had an issue with wifi but the owner sorted it out as quickly as they could.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay here again if we decide to return to that part of the country.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week in the cottage with my wife and 3 1/2 year old Labrador and it was everything we could have asked for. The cottage was warm, cosy and comfortable, and Barbara and Mick made us feel welcome without ever intruding into our time away. Perfect location for exploring the countryside and for walking along the canal.

Date of stay: January 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann T
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed at Pentwyn Cottage from 29.12.15-02.01.16 with my husband and 22 year old daughter. The cottage was well-equipped, cosy and inviting. The Christmas tree and tasteful decoration gave us a warm welcome as soon as we stepped over the doorstep, despite the terrible wet weather. We could not have asked for a better place to stay to see in the New Year. Managed a walk along the canal towpath to Talybont-on-Usk on New Years Eve, during a brief respite in the weather during the morning. Had a lovely lunch at The White Hart, at Talybont and the wonderful landlady Sue gave us a lift back to Pencelli in her own car when the local bus failed to stop for us at the given time. What hospitality ! I would thoroughly recommend this well-equipped wonderful cottage to anyone whether for use as a romantic getaway or family break. The owners have thought of everything to make the stay special.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris69ho...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely well-equipped cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed a week with partner and baby.. Cosy cottage feel and well equipped kitchen. Would recommend - close to nearby sights and countryside yet amenities also within reach.

Date of stay: February 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous place”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I visited with three friends early this January. The cottage was perfectly equipped for us. It allowed convenient access to the rest of the Brecon Beacons. Linda and her husband were also very cordial.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTcub
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage in a Great Location”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We saw the other reviews of this property and thought we'd try it and very simple to communicate with the owners and book the cottage - I was extremely impressed at how quick responses came.
The property was perfect, a good size and just what we were looking for for our winter get away. Great farmhouse style kitchen and cosey lounge, the fact that the owners are happy for some dogs meant that we could take our little puppy with us and it was a great holiday for him. The only negatives for us were that we did struggle to find the cottage as there are no signs and it felt like we were going up someone elses driveway and the electric shower was a bit disappointing, but that's just our preference of good showers over a bath.
We had a great holiday and being close to the canal and many of the walks around Breacon was just what we wanted! It rained constantly whilst we were there, so hope to go back at a different time of year and see some sunshine.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.