We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such an amazing place”
other travellers have booked this property
Mercian House the perfect winter getaway.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mercian House the perfect winter getaway.
Relaxing by the fire in the snug Lovely calm room with original sash window and open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Mercian House the perfect winter getaway.
Relaxing by the fire in the snug
Lovely calm room with original sash window and open fireplace
Double bedroom with beautiful french style bed
Light and airy first floor bedroom with a king size bed
Top floor room with king size bed and beautiful views
Double room with Velux window
Snug living room with the original Victorian fireplace
Second living room with original Victorian fireplace
Comfortable chairs for relaxing in the snug
Large open plan kitchen dining rooms for sociable meals with family or fiends
Kitchen doors open onto the patio area
Modern kitchen with appliances and range style gas oven
Plenty of storage and cooking utensils
Laundry room for washing muddy paws!
Lots of fresh cotton towels provided!
Second floor bathroom
Beautiful views from the bathroom
Pen y Fan summit.
Period bathroom with new power shower.
First floor bathroom now has a new power shower installed.
First floor double bedroom.
First floor double bedroom.
Sociable kitchen / dining room that seats up to 10.
Sauna in the cellar.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chetan Ka...
1 review
“Such an amazing place”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Don't know where to start.. I will start by saying very understanding and welcoming owner. Amazingly very beautiful house and well maintained furnitures. A beautiful large kitchen suitable for large group of people, comfortable beds, living room with tv and Netflix, three bathrooms and of course sauna after long walk or hiking, everything you could ask for.
Located perfectly with easy access to shops, town centre, restaurant and couples of minutes bus drive to mountains/hike. Better if you have your own car. I would highly recommend this property if you are planning to go Brecon. Reasonable price with everything you could ask for and very nice owners.
Definitely will come back in future and once again I like to apologise for leaving house messy.
Thank you,
James and Erin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tattiehea...
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If staying in Brecon, don' miss Mercian!!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful house, tastefully furnished and amazingly comfortable beds. Kitchen large and inviting and contained everything that you would wish for. Outside, lovely pretty garden, bbq and chairs to hand. Location perfect for easy access to restaurants, shops and with only short drive to the mountains/walks. Also parking is good too, garaged one of our party's cars and with a little bit of manoeuvre, managed to accommodate two more vehicles without obstruction. Would highly recommend this property and definitely plan to return. Thank you Erin.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14russell...
Grove, Wantage
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A comfortable and welcoming home.”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had family staying in each of the 5 bedrooms and all found the beds comfortable. Location perfect for the excellent Clarence Inn, or to wander around the town with supermarkets, shops and a great farmers market on Saterday. Would recommend for large groups.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian a
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful long weekend with friends in Mercian House. It is beautifully furnished, spacious, in an excellent central location. I would highly recommend it to any party considering a visit to Brecon. Just along the street is The Clarence pub, which we found very friendly, great service, very clean and tidy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the House, I would like to move in!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews1...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location offering a great scope for all.”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Had the pleasure recently to visit Breacon. As a large group we were sceptical but we found the accommodation perfect for our needs . It offered easy access to a range of activities as well as a comfortable place to stay . We will definitely be returning and can only praise the currency owners for offering such a great space.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s g
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“calm and cosy”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A delightful house and a great location. We stayed with a group of friends from Italy and travelled up from London to impress them with the beautiful Brecon Beacons countryside. Stocked up with good wine and food, we settled in the snug and bathed in the warmth of the fire. Fortunately, the owners had left us a couple of bottles to get things started. The beds were super-comfy, better than mine at home, and we all slept a deep quiet sleep. The breakfast room is beautiful old world charm leading out to a patio, which in summer looks good for bbqs. We chose to have a day by the fire, only venturing the short trip to Brecon for some goodies.
The weekend flew by and we can't wait to go back. A dream house and the area certainly impressed our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Mercian House in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing