We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B”
Review of Felin Glais

Felin Glais
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Felin Glais
Ranked #13 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B & B”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and are returning from last year. The location is perfect if you like the peace and tranquility of the countryside. The detached house is about 70 metres from the nearest house. There is a scenic walk into town along a footpath next to the river. From the conservatory you can see the mountains. The rooms were clean.There are 4 rooms, a large room with a jacuzzi bath, a room with a 4 poster bed and 2 smaller double rooms. The food is excellent as the owner is an enthusiastic chef, large portions were served. The owners Chris and David were excellent hosts and we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Best to go for the large room with a jacuzzi and shower or the 4 poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Well just home from another long weekend at what I would class as the best B&B I have been to.

I'll list the words that describe my views of Felin Glais

Quality, Comfort, Friendly, Amazing views, Harrods, Michelin Star, Home from Home.

The welcome from Chris and Dave is better each time we go back (5 Times once each year for 5 years)

The food is amazing (Book in advance, DO NOT MISS OUT) you would think you are in a michelin star restaurant

The house is amazing, all Full of Harrods bedding, cutlery, glasses and much more

We booked the whole B&B as we do each year, but even if you share with others Chris and Dave have a knack of making everyone welcome and wanting to be friends with others.

See you next year.....and say hello to Marla (the dog) for me

Many Thanks Mick, Sharon, (Holly our dog) Sue, Kathy, Sharad, Patrick and Cheryl

Room Tip: There are various rooms i would suggest, 1 the four poster room, or the double en suite with spa bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent two nights at Felin Glais over 4/5 May 2013 and can only reinforce what other reviewers have already said. This is as good as it gets. Accommodation, breakfast and evening cuisine all superb. Everything impeccably clean. Hosts very friendly and interesting. DO dine here if you can. Local restaurants are average only and Chris/Dave's cooking is not only a passion, the quality is way beyond the price.
A memorable weekend for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are large doubles but the (even) larger rooms are huge and worth the extra few pounds. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you want to get away from the city this is the place for peace and quiet and beautiful countryside!
We stayed 2 nights in a cosy room in this B&B cottage, owned by lovely couple Chris and David, who are truly magnificent hosts. They will advice you in anything you need from walking routes to best places to eat in the area. They served a huge and delicious breakfast every morning which sort you out for most of the day. Very good location near Breacon town, close to Pen Y Fan mountain if you want to climb which I recommend!
The room was very well equipped, with a huge double bed, although a bit small but the bathroom was spacious with good shower. For a tenner more you could have the other bigger beddroom with spa bath which comes andy after lots of walking.
Trully recommend this place!

Room Tip: Go for the bigger room with the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have just got back from a 2 night stay with Chris & David at Felin Glais, 2 night were not enough! Our room was at the top of a spiral staircase but don't not choose this room if you have dogs, 1 of ours weighs 45kg and she got up and down the stairs with no problem at all.
The room was fabulous, the bed snuggled you in all it's featheryness! The beverage tray wanted for nothing, teas, coffees & snacks. Chris is tireless and actually serviced our room twice a day, her attention to detail was incredible.
& then the bathroom, I could have spent the whole 2 days in there, it had a jacuzzi bath as well as a large shower, after walking in the Brecons the bath in all is bubblyness was wonderful.
Finally, breakfast, outstanding, excellent quality produce all in abundance and by request extras like smoked haddock with poached eggs or devilled kidneys which were the best my partner had ever had.

David & Chris thank you, we will be back and next time we will have your evening meals as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We've resisted the urge to review Felinglais because it's one of those gems you would like to keep hidden from others.

We have used it half a dozen or so times, over a number of years. First off, the location is idyllic, especially for hill walks and just chilling out. Secondly the barn conversion is so attractive and well executed, bettered only by the rooms and their facilities. Best of all is the superb cuisine. No, sorry, best of all are the hosts, Chris and Dave, who provide service excellence at a value for money price.

If you want accommodation anywhere close to the area, don't bother to look at anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have been returning here for over 10 years now, it is such a special place to stay. You come over the little picturesque bridge, turn into the stream bordered lane and there is Felin Glais. No matter what time of year it is always beautiful with wonderful views of Pen y Van and the Brecon Beacons. It is magical in winter when the house and trees along the stream are softened by a covering of snow and inside is all snug and warm, with a log burning stove in the huge sitting room throwing shadows and warmth to every corner of the “beast house”. Spring and summer, all is green and colour, time to explore the different levels and secret places of the garden with its succession of bulbs and flowering plants. Then Autumn when the conservatory comes into its own, and you can sit and enjoy the last of the year’s sun and watch all the different birds that come to feast at the many feeders scattered around and about.
Then there are the en-suite bedrooms with every imaginable comfort, large soft inviting beds with beautiful linen, luxury toiletries, a wide selection of beverages and treats, TV, magazines, games, absolutely every possible want is catered for!
The whole house is wonderfully decorated, furniture, pictures, ornaments all reflect the thought and love that has gone in to making Felin Glais such an extraordinary and exceptional home which you are privileged to share throughout your stay.
But this is all as nothing to the welcome that Chris and Dave give you every time you arrive. Their generosity, and care is amazing, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is served in a kitchen vast enough to accommodate two football teams and what a breakfast! Enough food and choice to last you all week let alone a day! Everything is fresh, sourced locally and where possible, homemade
No wonder we keep returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
2.7 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
462 reviews
5.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
927 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
68 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
360 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felin Glais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felin Glais

Property: Felin Glais
Address: Aberyscir, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 9NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:5 star — Felin Glais 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Felin Glais Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing