We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home, warmth, freedom and quality"”
Review of Blaencar Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blaencar Farm
Ranked #21 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Home, warmth, freedom and quality"”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We came, we stayed, we went back three weeks later! need I say more? All the previous comments I can support 100%, the place is not just a retreat from city life but provides a peaceful and relaxing environment. Carol has a wicked sense of humour and a wide knowledge of her home area (Wales basically) and can even tell you the best pubs, places to eat and events that are happening. (ask her about the lampshade award lol (sorry Carol)
This is a place to be free to sit in your shorts if staying in the self contained unit or cooking a meal from a local butchers and food stores! We stayed twice in the unit and had breakfast this last occasion, food excellent and all fresh, well presented and we could not have asked for more.
We left today not just another bed and breakfast but a place and a person we would love to spend time with again in the future. Julie and myself would recomend staying here above hotels as you feel at home. Totally endorse all previous comments and hope nobody goes so we can go all the time!!

Room Tip: rooms in the house are warm, of top quality and offer a place to sit on comfy settees, Tv and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A lovely place to spend a few days (or longer) walking in the Brecon Beacons. We stayed for Easter 2012, in cold and even snowy weather, so lovely to come back to a warm, cozy, spacious and nicely furnished room to chill out. Great breakfasts, too. And although it was at the end of their very busy lambing time, Carol always found time to chat and answer questions and feed us interesting info. about sheep farming, the area in general, pubs to be recommended etc.etc.
We would (will) definitely stay again and also wholeheartedly recommend this lovely farm B and B to friends and family. Definitely worth their 5 star rating!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayna0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed her last September. It is a top-quality B & B. The rooms are lovely, the breakfasts delicious with a variety of fruits included and Carol was very welcoming. (There was one practice we thought strange - the butter for breakfast was put out the evening before and left on the table all night).
It is wonderfully quiet in a beautiful location. There are nearby pubs for evening meals and plenty of walks nearby and places to visit

We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: They all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank review-reader01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I recently stayed 5 nights in the stable conversion of Carol Morgan's B&B. It was fantastic. The apartment itself is roomy yet cozy and has every amenity you might want. The place is really very, very nice and absolutely pristine.

Carol is the perfect host and has anticipated every need. She is also helpful and knowledgeable regarding the area etc. Though we're from the U.S., we spend lots of time in the UK, and we will definitely return to Blaencar Farm. In fact, I can't wait!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the converted stable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtaidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We have just returned from a weekend in the stable conversion in the b&b. It was lovely and carol was such a welcoming host. Upon our arrival we were met by carol and show our accommodation! What can I say it was huge like a small 1 bedroom house complete with fully stocked kitchen, living room and dining table. The breakfasts were lovely which of a choice of fruit, cereals and a yummy cooked breakfast to set you up for a day walking over the beacons! Very peaceful and idillyic location and the Tanners Arm just down the road does a lovely dinner and pear cider! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewilbs0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We had a 4 night stay in the separate self contained converted stable on a B&B basis and had a really nice stay. It had everything you require including a delicious breakfast in the farmhouse. Carol is the perfect host and really helpful with suggestions and ideas for walks etc. It was great fun watching her husband Geoff bringing in the sheep on various mornings in readiness for the market.We also had a calf born one evening by caesarean and we are glad to say both cow and calf were doing very well when we left.Overall this is the best Farmstay we have had and Carol deserves the 5 star rating plus an extra one for being so nice, Derek and Chris.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dovermarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Carol, owner and soul of the establishment, reads every wish from your eyes. And she is very helpful, too.
Our room was not very large, but tastefully furbished. The bed is not suitable for persons with problems of their backbone. The shower was really very small for a bigger man. At nights it was absolutely quiet, and in the days all you heard were the sheep of the farm.
The breakfast was of excellent quality, the fresh (changing) fruit salad in addition to the cooked breakfast delicious.
For dinner follow Carol´s recommendation, but anyway where you go, do not miss the "Shoemaker´s Arms". It is 5 miles to go there, but it is worth each inch of the way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enno068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
4.5 mi away
Castle Coaching Inn
Castle Coaching Inn
#16 of 43 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
9.8 mi away
Brynderwen Farm
Brynderwen Farm
#29 of 43 in Brecon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alltybrain Farm Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.2 mi away
Herdmans Bed & Breakfast
Herdmans Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaencar Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaencar Farm

Property: Blaencar Farm
Address: Blaencar Farm Sennybridge, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaencar Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blaencar Farm Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing