We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Coach House
Ranked #4 of 43 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
stockport
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed two nights and our room on the first floor was a really good size and spotlessly clean. Even though its on quite a busy road we were not disturbed in any way by outside noise. The bathroom although small is more than adequate with an electric shower so lots of hot water. Lots of finishing touches and even an electric fan which was really useful as it was quite warm. The breakfasts were beautiful. Lots of choice and huge ;) Friendly hosts, always greeted with a smile. A short walk into Brecon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
I got up to this lovely review, thank you so very much. It makes not only our day great but the week as well .... You are very kind to do this for us and we look forward to seeing you again kind regards. TONY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    18
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
177
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A beautiful b&b with fantastic hosts. Outstanding breakfast that kept us going all day. The best Welsh rarebit you will ever taste! Lovely rooms and a delightful garden to relax in. Recommend most highly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
What a recommendation .... For someone so familiar with Brecon and places to stay it s prays in dead AND THANK YOU SO MUCH It makes all we do so worth it. We do hope to see you both again soon.... Tony and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have visited Brecon many times over the last three decades, and know it well. However, this was my first time at The Coach House. I doubt it'll be my last.

Put simply, this is an excellent place to stay. Our room was comfortable, extremely well furnished and adequately sized. It was a little on the warm side, but I can hardly blame the proprietors for the heat wave that accompanied our stay.

Position was good, with the centre of Brecon a short walk away and with adequate, free parking to the rear of the building. This parking was easily accessible via a gate at the back of a small but pretty garden, which guests were free to use.

As for the breakfasts - sublime! Between the two of us, we hugely enjoyed four different breakfasts from the impressive menu. Each was cooked to perfection and presented in an exceedingly attractive manner. I'm afraid the Welsh names escape me but, as others have commented, the Welsh Rarebit and the laverbread, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon dishes were simply superb.

The cost of our two-day stay was very competitive, and in my view represented excellent value for money. It's perhaps a little inconvenient that payment by cheque or credit card is not accepted, but that was made very clear at booking.

And such pleasant proprietors - friendly, informative and most welcoming. All in all, a really pleasant stay in excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Well thank YOU What a review and thank you so much for the time a nice words you had to say about our home ..... Hope to see you again very soon. Tony and marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Coach House on a one night whirlwind tour of Brecon, the room was very clean and comfortable, really friendly and helpful hosts and breakfast was absolutely superb - the rarebit is a must! Easy walking distance to the town means there's plenty of good choices for eating in the evening. We would love to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Wow .... Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review
Tony and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I could say lots of things about The Coach House - but I would only be repeating what everyone else has already said about it - so I will settle for publicly thanking Tony and Marc for proving such quality accommodation and being such terrific hosts.
A quick glance at the breakfast menu will show what sort of stay you are in for. If you are there for a few nights Marc will actively encourage you to try something different for breakfast each morning. The smoked salmon, scrambled eggs and lavar bread are sublime, the Welsh breakfast is amazing and the Welsh Rarebit combinations are inredible. I had the Rarebit with bacon and eggs on the top. It was almost as high as Pen-y-Fan and, once you have tasted it, you will never want to eat Welsh Rarebit anywhere else!
The rooms are everything you could wish for - this is what all "B&B's" should aspire to emulate.
As soon as we got home my daughter and her husband, having heard our descriptions of The Coach House, rang and booked a stay.
If you want to stay in Brecon - make sure you stay at The Coach House!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Well we are so glad you had a good time with s at the Coach House. And it gives us a real buzz when our guest take the time to write a great review ..... Thank you agin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Tony and Marc are great hosts.
The breakfasts were substantial and excellent, we really felt well set up for the day.
We were given some excellent tips for where to go, park etc..
There is free easy parking at the back of the Coach House.
We may well stay there again and would certainly recommend the Coach House to our friends.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top floor with the bathroom at the back and the bedroom at the south side agains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermooney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
It really makes running a B&B all worth wile when we get people who are the time to put a great review on here for us. A BIG THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A wonderful two nights at the Coach House, great base for our walking trip in the Brecons. Very high quality accommodation, the breakfast certainly as other reviewers have noted is exceptional (smoked salmon, scrambled eggs and lavar bread a new experience and fab), will be back! Great hosts, Marc giving us advice on walks and driving routes and nice to be able to get a drink when back from walking before going out to eat (Robertos Italian another recommendation)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeliaE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
You are so very kind to take the time to give us such a nice review. We never stand on our Laurels but its great when you take the time THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
0.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
461 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
927 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 12 Orchard Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coach houses were traditionally warm and welcoming places. This particular example is one of a new breed. Offering 5 star Highly commended contemporary townhouse accommodation. The welcome is as big as ever. The hosts are full of local knowledge on the best places to visit, walk, cycle or ride. It's part of the Coach House's strong 'Sense of Place', which runs from photographs and maps of the Brecon Beacons on the walls to the Welsh breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Brecon
The Coach House Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing