We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B&B”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House
Ranked #4 of 44 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay here on a Saturday night. Ideal after walking in the beacons, a short walk into town. Room was spacious with a very nice bed. Shower curtain was a little short so water came out underneath it onto the floor.
Breakfast was nice with a huge selection of cooked options. Almost too big a selection. Welsh rarebit is a must, their home made chutney was delightful.
At £99 for the night however the wifi is still a chargeable extra! Hence the four star rating.
Lovely hosts, made you feel totally at home and welcome.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay ... We do hope to see you again soon. Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the coachhouse in 2012 and always vowed to go back bit it's taken us longer than we had hoped!
Returning in 2014 there was no disappointment, it looks as new and beautiful as it did 2 years ago. The hosts are fantastic, with thorough detailed knowledge of the local walking routes.

The breakfast really is luxury, fresh fruit, smoked salmon and rarebit...it's better than many 5 are hotels. We also asked them for a packed lunch for our walk and this was a wonderful treat!

We will definitely return again and would recommend this b & b for anybody who wishes to stay in Brecon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eh2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

It was so nice to have you back again ... Please don't stay away so long next time. And thank you so much for your lovely comments Marc and Tony x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We wanted an overnight stay in a good B&B in Brecon on the night of my wife's 60th birthday. We were on our way to Bluestone in West Wales for a weekend with children and grandchildren. We managed to find a good B&B at The Coach House.

The owners were welcoming without being over-powering or wanting to be our New Best Friends. They were both helpful and informative regarding the area, restaurants etc.
The premises were very tastefully decorated and furnished, clean and inviting. There were many lovely little touches using driftwood etc that gave the place a holiday feel. The offer of real milk for our use as opposed to the UHT stuff that is generally on offer in B&Bs was another welcoming touch which is never going to cost them big money but adheres the owners to the customer.

The bedroom was comfortable and once again tastefully furnished. The radiators took a while to warm up but I guess being in an attic conversion the water had a little further to flow. We slept well and were not cold, neither did the position by a road bother us.

The bathroom was spotless and modern but not too practical. The hand basin was lovely to look at but none-too-easy to use. The shower was also a little difficult to use. However, these issues did not impact on and spoil our enjoyment of the evening we spent here.

The breakfast was delightful, tasty, great to look at and really well prepared. We both had the Welsh Rarebit, my wife with two eggs and I had the eggs with crispy bacon. It was one of the best B&B/Hotel breakfasts I have eaten in a long time. I could have stayed all day working my way through the menu. My wife also enjoyed the meal but found the combination of eggs and cheese a bit too rich for her first thing in the morning, but that was about her personal taste rather than the quality of the food.

Overall it was an enjoyable experience. We felt we had value for money and would return if we were ever going to stay in Brecon again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lay-By-Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed in the coach house for a weekend stay returning to my birth place. From the minute you walk through the door you just know that its going to be a lovely place to stay, Met by Marc on check in and he knew name without asking, the coach house has a great feeling of warmth. we stayed in room 7 for 2 nights on the top floor up a couple of flights of stairs and the room was just ....so. Very well maintained and everything required for your stay, robes nice toiletries, and all the nice finishing touches to make the room homely and worthy of its 5 star rating, Breakfast can only be described as exceptional.... say no more.
Marc and Tony are simply running a exceptional well oiled machine of a B&B.... if only more had this attitude to customer service..... well done and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: All rooms will be lovely if in doubt ring and ask Marc or Tony as some rooms are on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coaten72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you so very much both for one of the nicest reviews we have had, but more than that we are so happy your return to your childhood was a memorable one. Marc and I do hope you both return again to see us and your town of your childhood. Brecon in the summer is just a fantastic place and I'm sure you would like it even more. With our very best wishes and thanks Tony and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were looking for a hotel/ guest house for a weekend visit to Brecon and saw that the Coach House had excellent reviews on Trip Advisor so decided to book for two nights. We were not disappointed! The rooms are beautiful with lots of little personal touches. Bathrobes, slippers and lovely toiletries are all included. Everything was absolutely spotless and the owners could not do enough for us.
Breakfast was amazing, my diet went straight out of the window, equaling that of any 5 star restaurant.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziewHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you very much both for such a lovely review of us and the Coach House and we are really happy that your stay with us was a present one and do hope the food did not have that much impact on the diet ( you don't need to anyway). If your ever thinking of returning to Brecon we would love to see you back as we have a high number of our guest returning time after time. Any way thank you both again tony and marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My partner and I have just had a fantastic two night stay at The Coach House. Clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and well-appointed rooms. The bed was comfortable and there was a nice hot shower and lovely toiletries. Others had commented on the quality of the breakfasts and I assumed they were exaggerating, but they weren't - absolutely delicious, lovingly made with fresh local ingredients, and such generous portions we didn't need lunch on our way home! They have the best breakfast menu I have ever seen in a hotel or B & B, and I particularly recommend the Welsh rarebit. My partner is a vegetarian and there were lots of good choices for her too, not just the 'ordinary breakfast with the meat taken out' which you sometimes get.

There is a free public car park right behind the Coach House and the town centre is a short (five mins) walk away. There is a lounge area with books (including walk books) where you can sit and have a drink before dinner.

Most important of all though is the welcome you receive from the hosts, who are warm and friendly and full of useful information - Marc helped us out with suggestions of where to eat, local directions, and advice on which walks to do (you are really spoilt for choice in the Brecon Beacons). They couldn't have made us feel more at home.

The only potential downside I can see at the Coach House is that our room was facing on to the street, and if you are sensitive to noise it might disturb you if you had the window open. It wasn't a problem for us though (and the windows are double glazed so sound insulation is good when they are closed), and it certainly wouldn't stop us returning to the Coach House whenever we are in this part of the world. I hope we get the chance to come back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

What I nice review from you both ... We are so pleased we made your time in Brecon a time to remember. And if your ever here again we would love to see you both back. We have many guests that stay with us returning time after time and we do hope to see you again soon. Marc has just completed the Brecon Beacons National AMBASSADOR course that is awarded to people in the area for outstanding customer service and know late of the park and joins the few people with this award..... Good wishes and hope to see you soon Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here a year or so back. These guys are wonderful. The breakfast is fantastic, and when we had to leave early the next day, they went out of their way to give us something to take away. Very friendly, very clean, beds are comfortable, great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMACS-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w4mcdf, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Great news you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again soon. We will always try to get us to provide breakfast for our guests outside of our normal breakfasts time but if it's really early we can always to a breakfast bag with fresh fruit salad hot drink a bacon roll and lots more. Anyway thanks again tony and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brecon
3.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
499 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#2 of 44 in Brecon
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Town House at Brecon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 12 Orchard Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range: £83 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coach houses were traditionally warm and welcoming places. This particular example is one of a new breed. Offering 5 star Highly commended contemporary townhouse accommodation. The welcome is as big as ever. The hosts are full of local knowledge on the best places to visit, walk, cycle or ride. It's part of the Coach House's strong 'Sense of Place', which runs from photographs and maps of the Brecon Beacons on the walls to the Welsh breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Brecon
The Coach House Brecon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing