We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food but decor needs updating”
Review of The Usk Inn

The Usk Inn
Ranked #34 of 68 Restaurants in Brecon
Price range: US$57 - US$57
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food but decor needs updating”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the usk inn. We were shown to our room which was very clean but decor was dated.
Prime location for walkers and only a short walk to the canal.
We ate at the usk inn on both evenings. Food quality was good and desserts were lovely. Breakfast was good and there was a good selection on the cooked breakfast menu. Again restaurant area was dated.
I would stay again but for £80 a night it would be nice to see the inn redecorated to ensure value for money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redarrows10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't do enough for you”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Regular but infrequent visitors, always impressed by the welcome, the consistently high quality food and the willingness to accommodate our wishes

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trevandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food.. unless you come too late”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were a larger group, arriving to Talybont on Usk from various places mostly on sunday evening. In a phone call they said "food served until 9:30 pm", so this was the restaurant to choose as the meeting place of the group. In the reality the kitchen stopped taking orders nearly a full hour sooner.

I was lucky enough to get the food and it was fine, but some others were not. C'mon, there are 10+ hungry guests and they don't want the business? Not something I am used to... Surely enough we did not visit this restaurant on any of the following days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank numo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in country atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at the nearby Pencelli Castle caravan park, and whilst they had some recommendations in Talybont-on-Usk, this one wasn't on the list.

Came here on the back of the recommendation of a friend who mentioned the food was great.

Entered at about 18.30 on a Tuesday night - place was empty which surprised us. Lovely roaring fire was on near the comfy sofas to counter the wet and miserable day outside. We were given the menu and pretty quickly decided on steak - unfortunately fillet was off the menu so a Tbone and rump were ordered.

When the food was nearly ready, they prepared a nearby table for us and we sat down to what can only be described as a HUGE TBone steak - it was almost bigger than the plate! The rump was also great, and the sauces were interesting. Chips were hot and crispy, just as they should be.

Whilst service wasn't the best I've ever experienced, it didn't deteriorate from the meal at all. After finishing we moved back to the sofas and ordered (eventually) a cheese platter for dessert - the Y Fenny cheese (with what seemed to be mustard seeds?) was a local cheese and was amazing!

All together food and drinks only came to about £40 which I thought very reasonable. Very surprised that this isn't higher up the list as couldn't fault the food and would happily return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babelfish84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty awful”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Taken there by son and girlfriend, hungry after a long day. Bad choice. They had had a good meal there some time ago.
Wish I had looked at other reviews, I agree the place and the food need a serious update. Place is shabby, old fashioned and unclean.
I had spinach pasta- I have never seen pasta served burnt on top, before. I mean the pasta burnt black as if seared with a torch. Could have been OK without that. But burnt taste was awful.
Others had beef and said this was OK.
All vegetables over cooked. Cheesecake also awful - jam on top and cheap biscuit base.
Slow service and poor. When I said the pasta wasn't good, the answer? 'Oh' What's the point asking if you really aren't interested.
Not expensive in the scheme of things, but overpriced for poor food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stillmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Usk Inn also viewed

Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon Beacons National Park
Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon Beacons National Park
Bwlch, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanhamlach, Brecon
 

Been to The Usk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing