We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right by the canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tipple 'n' Tiffin - CLOSED

Tipple 'n' Tiffin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$49 - US$49
Cuisines: British, Spanish, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Devon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Right by the canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nice spot over looking the canal basin and perfect for a cuppa and a piece of cake after paddling along the canal or a walk around town. On the Taff cycle trail as well

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    63
    24
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knighton, Wales
Level Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“one visit will not be enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stopped in for lunch, having seen the good reviews, after a stroll along the canal. The standard and specials menus were both tempting and just that little bit different. Shared between us we sampled a welsh rarebit with ham and the salmon fishcakes, dill mayonnaise and some potato wedges. I am more than happy to report that everything was excellent - freshly prepared, very nicely presented and extremely tasty. The rarebit was very substantial - nice chunky bread, good ham and gorgeous cheese, all grilled just perfectly. The fishcake flavour was delicate and spot on and they were very obviously the 'homemade' article. The wedges were rather good too! Generous quantities of first rate food. We even sampled a meringue and chestnut dessert between us which was well worthy of the temptation!

The atmosphere is nice with a gentle friendly buzz, the location really different by the canal basin (outside seating also available by the water), and the food fresh and excellent. Prices are pretty sensible too. Highly recommended, we will return that's for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyKnighton_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superior!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Tipple 'n' Tiffin has an interesting menu, much better than the predictable and tedious fare found in most places around Brecon. It's a friendly and comfortable restaurant; and it must be counted among the best in the region.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pre-theatre dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely location attached to the Brecon theatre and canal side. Excellent service, Tapas and specials which were thoroughly enjoyed, good wine and pint bottle of Wye Valley Butty Bach. The restaurant was full and busy and we were not kept waiting long for our meals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashdod
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We came here with expectations, and weren't disapponited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

During our visit to Brecon Beacons we stopped at the Tipple 'n' Tiffin in Brecon little marina, having the place recommended to us. I can definitely say the recommendations were just, the restaurant is in a very nice location, just a few minutes from the town centre. The food was great, catering both to my vegetarian daughter's taste as to the other family members. The service was very friendly, and we had a great time.
I would certainly come here again, if we come to Wales again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tipple 'n' Tiffin also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing