We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food, Excellent Service, Amazing Views”
Review of Horseshoe Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Horseshoe Inn
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Excellent Service, Amazing Views”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We made a reservation at the Horseshoe Inn expecting to have a bar meal, however since re-opening the establishment has become more upmarket and the menu more diverse. I ordered the Monkfish with King Prawns which I have to say is one of the best meals I have enjoyed in a long time, for £13.95 the presentation of the dish was that of a top London restaurant, the meal was also accompanied by new potatoes and a second dish containing 3 types of vegetables (at no extra charge). Whilst waiting for our meal we were given complimentary homemade bread with a choice of butter and Olive Oil, beautifully presented. You do not have to have a meal to enjoy this establishment, as there are benches outside the Inn where you can simply enjoy a drink and take in the stunning views - a true hidden gem ....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a couple of meals here whilst staying in the area recently. Good quality and friendly service. Lovely place to sit outside - smashing views.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thoroghly enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We turned up for Sunday lunch without booking and fortunately there was one spare table. The food was delicious and the service prompt. Very friendly staff and great atmosphere led to a thoroughly enjoyable meal. I would definitely return but I'd book next time as the restaurant filled up quickly

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“we'll return when next nearby”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via Local Picks

Friday night and bustling yet a wonderful meal was served with calm and a sense of 'we want to please you'. The venison was on special - and it certainly was!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had our engagement meal here yesterday. The host was polite, service was great, and food was amazing! Great views opposite with seating for a lovely drink on a warm sumers evening.
Worth the trip out there. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Archaeologist001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horseshoe Inn also viewed

Six Bells, Blaenau Gwent
 
Brynmawr, Blaenau Gwent
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing