We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A late lunch”
Review of The Farmers Arms

The Farmers Arms
Ranked #94 of 183 Restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a family friendly pub which provides fine dining without the costly price tag. We aim to cater for all ages and also provide beer battered cod and chips as a take away faacility.
S. Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A late lunch”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

On the basis of you get what you pay for...
You won't be let down.
10 yrs plus since I was here last,
It's changed but the service hasn't.
The welcome and service are fantastic.
The presentation of the food is excellent and so tasty.
Will be going back, hopefully not such a long time though.

Helpful?
Thank PJandste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    46
    19
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Haven't been here for some time so decided to make a return visit as we were in the area. Although the food was ok and service quick, we were disappointed with the attitude of staff. Maybe they were having a bad day!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend South Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely food good service nice place!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went there last Friday for my boyfriends birthday and it was lovely. Set in a nice pretty area and looks very nice from the outside. We were taken to our seats and quickly received our drinks before they took our order. Even though it was a very hot day it was lovely and airy with the windows open inside. We ordered the chicken breast, one with bbq marinade one with garlic and herb marinade. It was delicious! The waiters were polite and the food and drinks both arrived quickly. We didn't have dessert as we were both full and at £4.50 per dessert it wasn't worth spending it if we didn't have room for it after all. We have been here a few times now and it never disappoints. I'd definitely recommend for a nice meal every time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kate1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in nice relaxing surroundings”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a really lovely meal here today, celebrating my mothers 89th birthday, both the restaurant and pub have easy access for those less mobile. The. Menu is varied and well priced and the desserts are delicious ( if you have room) a good selection of wine, beers and cider available and a lovely drive in the countryside also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food!!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me & my husband went for a lovely lunch together and he took me here, it was both our first time going here bur have seen this pub many times driving past.
We wasn't disappointed!!! We were greeted straight away and was taken to our seats,
We was asked what drinks we would like and they came quite quickly!
We had to wait a little while for our starter but we didn't care as we were chatting & enjoying our new experience.
Worth the wait!!!! Beautiful isn't the word! It was amazing we had the Camembert to share the only thing I would say you need more bread as one for two people isn't enough so we had to order more which the lady was happy to do so.
We both had salad & was lovely.
We thought we couldn't fit anymore in but then the dessert board come to us... Cheesecake!! Best I've ever tasted and I've had a lot to cheesecake!!!!!
So we have decided we will bring my parents with us next time.
Happy customers!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Farmers Arms also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Southerndown, Bridgend
 
Wick, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing