We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue and weekend stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband have stayed here several times. The rooms are always very clean. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. The food is always fantastic, so much so that we decided to hold our wedding breakfast and reception here! It was the most amazing day ever! Great co-ordination from the host Grant and superb wedding planners. I would definitely recommend for parties and special occasion meals. We will be coming again, maybe for an afternoon tea this time around

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhiaWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Guest, firstly belated congratulations to you both and secondly thank you for the kind words in your review. All the staff take great pride in hosting events at the hotel. I am very happy to read that you were impress with our service and food, so much so that you booked your wedding breakfast here at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel.

On behalf of The Coed-Y-Mwstwr team, I would like to thank you once again and hope that you will visit us in the foreseeable future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

A beautifully situated hotel, with lovely rooms and a comfortable restaurant with good food and charming staff.
I eat here regularly and have never been disappointed. Our friends often stay here while visiting us and have always been pleased with the rooms and service.

Room Tip: The hotel is well away from the road and all rooms are quiet. There is a golf course at the end of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time and writing a review on the hotel. I am delighted to read that we continue to make our regular guest feel welcomed and happy with the service they receive.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for a night away from the kids in June 2014. The staff were so helpful and thoughtful and we had an upgrade to a lovely room. The food was superb and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. The hotel grounds were lovely to wander through in the summer sunshine. Definitely great value and a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear guests, thank you for taking the time and leaving a review about the hotel. I have passed your comments on to our chefs regarding the food, they would like to thank you for your kind words. All the staff are committed to guest satisfaction and viewing your comments reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that we have set.

On behalf of The Coed-Y-Mwstwr team, I would like to thank you once again and hope that you will visit us in the foreseeable future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Family would like to say a huge thank for the wonderful wedding day we celebrated at the hotel last Saturday 7/6/14.
Nothing was too much trouble for Nicola and her team, not only on the day but in the months of planning that went into it .We would like to thank every member of staff, you were all so helpful and made Laura and Matthews day so special , you are all "truly amazing".
We would like to say a special thank you to the young lady who worked so hard preparing the Bridal Suite on such a warm morning ,your efforts really were appreciated and to the kind and caring member of staff in the restaurant who made a special breakfast for Laura when she really didn't have an appetite ,thanks to you she did manage to eat!
The compliments we had from friends and family about the venue ,the food and the warmth of the staff were exceptional ,we take away nothing but happy memories of our Daughters Wedding Day at the Coed Y Mwstwr and we cannot speak highly enough about you all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest. Firstly congratulations to Laura and Matthew on their recent marriage, secondly all the staff join me in thanking you for your kind words. All the team at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel are happy to help and try to make every bride and grooms day as special as possible and viewing your comments reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that have been set.

Once again I am happy that we were able to help with making Laura and Matthew’s special day so memorable, please do come and visit us again soon where we can welcome you back as ‘old friends’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we stayed here in march. checked alot of the reviews so expectations were high, we were not disappointed. we arrived by car from england. all our rooms were prepared and we requested afternoon tea later that day. the afternoon tea was a delight. the living room a perfect place for a lovely welsh tea. the bedrooms were immaculate and very cozy. the soft toy puppies were a cute touch. the next morning breakfast was amazing! so much to choose from and the waitstaff so friendly and accomodating for our wishes. we will definately return and recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swissbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time and writing a review on the hotel. All the staff join me in thanking you for your kind words, here at Coed-Y-Mwstwr hotel we try and think of all the little things to make every guests stay more enjoyable and the cysgu dogs are very popular with everyone of all ages. I have to agree the lounge area is a comfortable area and the perfect place to relax and enjoy an afternoon tea.

All the staff look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel as ‘old friends’

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed on business and the hotel was very nice - the room rate including breakfast was £77, which I would suggest represents good value for money.
What I was not happy about was that despite the fact that my room was pre-paid and the terms made it clear that nothing would be charged for the room I was still asked to supply a debit/credit card.
Whilst not particularly happy about this I did so, there was certainly no mention whatsoever that a debit would be made against the card - only to be informed at check out the following day that £100 had been debited and it may take 2 or 3 days before it was re-credited.
It is bad enough that my account was debited without making this clear, but then to show no urgency in repaying this amount is taking liberties to say the least.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nickynoodle1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time and reviewing the hotel. I am sorry to ready that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay.

A debit or Credit card is required on check in for a pre-authorisation, a pre-authorisation doesn’t deduct anything from your account it simply holds the amount within your bank account. On check out a cancelation of the pre-authorisation was made, however dependant on your bank they can take from two hours to five working days to cancel the hold on the funds. Unfortunately the length of time is something we do not have control over. Once again I am sorry you feel that there was no urgency and that we were taking liberties, but this was never our intention. I do hope you will not let this cloud your judgment on the hotel and that you will come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and attended a wedding, we were given an upgrade to the Coach House (4) so had a bigger room with an outside seating area which was lovely,

We used the steam, sauna and gym which were adequate but could maybe do with a little update but they served our needs well.

The breakfast was fantastic, the selection of fruit was far in excess to what I have seen in other hotels which was another lovely unexpected extra.

The receptionist was beyond helpful which was lovely because we wernt sure what to do or where to head but she made sure we had everything we needed.

Great stay, would return.

Room Tip: The coach house iss et away from the main building and our roomwas lovely CH4, i cant comment on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliot P, Front Office Manager at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time and reviewing the hotel. I am delighted to read your comments regarding the level of service that you encountered during your stay, all the team at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel are fully committed to guest satisfaction and try to go that extra mile for every guest. Viewing your comments reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that have been set. With this in mind we welcome guests’ comments and suggestions on all aspects of the hotel, only with guest’s feedback can we strive to maintain and improve our services.

On behalf of The Coed-Y-Mwstwr team, I would like to thank you once again and hope that you will visit us in the foreseeable future. We look forward to welcoming you back as ‘old friends’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
4.3 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
307 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
543 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Address: Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 6AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
#1 Green Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: £121 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel near Bridgend in South Wales is a beautiful privately owned 4 star country house hotel justifiably proud of its fine reputation. Few settings are more tranquil than that of the aptly named Coed-y-Mwstwr or "Whispering Trees". Perched on a Welsh hillside and surrounded by over 17 acres of woodland, this Victorian mansion provides a cosy and secluded hideaway overlooking the picturesque Vale of Glamorgan. With our gym, sauna and steam room, tennis court and adjacent golf course there is plenty to keep the energetic occupied. Built in 1888 the house was first opened as a hotel in 1965. It is an oasis of calm where you, your family and your business colleagues are always welcomed back as old friends. Our 35 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms ensure all modern comforts and facilities are provided. At the privately owned Coed-Y-Mwstwr hotel, our team have pride in what they do, they enjoy working at the hotel. You'll be greeted with a warm Welsh welcome and you're assured of friendly, but always courteous and professional attention throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing