We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Good accommodation, helpful staff and good price. No problem parking. Hotel could do with modernizing in places and quality of breakfast was only average. Did not have time to use spa or restaurant. Bed was comfortable and room was good size if en-suite a little small for my liking. Overall very good value for one night stay family of two adults and two small children (8 and 6)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and would like to confirm the hotel will be continuing its refurbishment of the hotel in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    221
    144
    59
    40
See reviews for
147
210
22
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip and was pleasently suprised by the quality of the refurbished room and qulaity of the restaurant. Staff were helpful and I would definitely stay again.

The gym facilities were free and very handy as they were all on site. Bar food very good quality if you want a quick snack.

Breakfast ok but a little old fashioned and slow but not a major problem as food was always hot and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed one night, once bitten twice shy! Staff OK, room good. Quaint 20 inch Finlandia C/D41 tv that has a thing called a cathode ray tube inside. I'm not saying that the tv is old but it was still showing live footage of the first Gulf War. The tv heaved a sigh of relief when turned off. The breakfast has improved from previous reviews, it was excellent! The only problem was that the seven staff milling around the dining room failed to get the toast and tea to the table before the main course started to cool. Diners were made to wait outside for tables to be relaid despite the surplus staff wandering about. The most senior member of waiting staff smiled at us charmingly then apologized because she had wind ...........!

Health and Safety warning. Take a good torch or headlight for each guest in your party. Only tiny energy saver light bulbs are used, one in each light fitting. This means the equivalent of a 40 watt bulb in a fitting designed to take two 80 watt lamps. The lights in the rooms take at least three minutes to reach their full useless magnificence. You cannot read in bed with this
light. At 6.30 a.m. the fire alarm sounded. Imagine being woken in a strange room in complete darkness. You cannot find the light switch at the bedside so you stumble about and turn on the main light - you are rewarded by the dimmest of glows in creation, you can't see to find clothes for evacuating and are falling over everything. This is a dangerous situation! The room lighting may be up to a legal standard, but it is not SAFE. A person with macular degeneration would be in trouble with the lighting provided in the rooms. Fortunately the fire alarm was false.
Best Western boast of a bronze medal for energy conservation. They deserve a stinking brown one for room lighting!!!

Room Tip: For your own safety take your own auxilliary lighting and keep it by you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank protonmeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you thought our cooked breakfast was excellent. In terms of the waiting staff each member of staff is given a specific task to achieve to ensure breakfast guests are serviced correctly, I am sorry if you feel this did not happen on the morning you ate breakfast.

The bedrooms are currently being fitted with new TV's, so all rooms will have modern LCD TV;'s with th eadditional free view channels. In terms of the lighting we have not recieved any negative feedback concerning the energy saving light bulbs fitted within the hotel and I will look into your concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to an even more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. The superior rooms are great, very comfortable and reasonably priced. The disappointment comes at breakfast, the Cooked breakfast has not changed in years and the sausages have an almost sour taste. I remembered now why I went for the kippers, which were, just okay. The staff are very friendly and helpful especially Sarah who unfortunately is leaving the hotel soon.

Room Tip: The superior rooms off to the left of reception and up the stairs have been refurbished and are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Half-a-sandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you like our superior bedrooms and the refurblishemnt of the hotel. I am sorry our breakfast offering is not to your likiing, the sausages used are Pork and Leek and are of a very high quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed there for two nights. The staff were helpful and the food was nice. However, the hotel seem outdated and lighting dim so makes you feel a bit depressed. Nonetheless it is clean and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Paresh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you were happy with your stay and the staff that served you. We will continue our refurbishment programme which will include the standard bedrooms and corridors, this will complete the refurbishment of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just spent one night here for a two day conference.Tea/coffee consistently cold,even when ordered hot chocolate from the bar...cold!!the staff couldn't have been more unfriendly unwelcoming and miserable,I felt like my family and I were just a burden they didnt want to deal with.The Christmas meal was served cold and by the the time the veg came out that was freezi,the veg was also severely undercooked,desert?well my table was completely missed out took about 45 minutes after the other tables had finished for us to get our desert even after asking the whole table twice what we had ordered for desert.Breakfas time was also obviously a busy time but again to be completely ignored for at least half an hour was a disgrace to then be told with the worst attitude I have seen on anyone working in customer service,we are short staffed so you know just have to wait,yes obviously they were not well equipped to deal with such a big group at once but people had come in after us and were served plenty before us.The same waitress then went and dropped a tray of dirty crockery and cutlery over my little girl who was minding her own business when the waitress tried to squeeze past tables and the breakfast station and my girl was getting her breakfast,totally careless.It was clear the children were not so welcome at this hotel and it showed by the waitress consistently setting a separate table in a separate room expecting the parents to leave 7kids ranging from 18months to 12yrs
To eat alone like they were animals and not part of the group they attended with.I don't feel like we were treated the same way any other guest staying here and the children were in the eyes of the staff just a nuisance they tried to ignore , customer service here was diabolical I would never wish to put my children through that again.All I have to say that was good is that the room was nice and the young boys serving at the bar were polite and more accommodating than any other member of staff working there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would however like to confirm that the organsier of your conference arranged the creche facilities and the separate lunch dining for the children. The hotel is very child friendly, and the waitress you have mentioned has worked at the hotel for over 30 years, we have never received a complaint about her being rude and she loves children, she even looked after your children when you collected your food from the buffet. She did ask if the children were able to take a seat in the restaurant during breakfast as she had, had an accident that moring with a child running into her while she was carrying a tray and she was afraid that when carrying hot food and drinks this could occur again. The hotel does not tolerate abusive language to its staff and had the waitress made the manager aware of this we would have reported you to your conference organiser. In terms of the Christmas meal our banqueting manager spoke with the organsier on the night of the event and he said everything went really well, all of the other guests attending were also very happy with the meal served and commented upon this. The three course meal was served completely within one and a half hours so a 45 minute wait for dessert would have been impossible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridgend hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have used this hotel on many occasions, it has just undergone a refurbishment and is of very good quality. The Herons spa is very nice, the food is good in the bar and the welcome is warm. A nice hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keen-holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you enjoy your stays at the hotel and you like the new refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
0.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.6 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Address: Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF35 5AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for both business and pleasure. The hotel is located in a semi rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. We are within easy reach of the dramatic Heritage Coastline and equidistant from our vibrant capital city of Cardiff & the cosmopolitan city of Swansea. The hotel boasts 75 well appointed non smoking bedrooms including Standard and Superior rooms and Suites. Ewennys Bar & Grill is the perfect place for pre dinner drinks or to order a light snack or bar meal. Our Crane Restaurant offers a Seasonal Menu and all food served is sourced locally and prepared and cooked freshly. We are able to offer a range of conference facilities from a small meeting for 2 up to a conference for 200 with all audio and visual requirements catered for. We have several banqueting suites which can cater for 8 up to 240 guests and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event. Our Herons Leisure Club offers an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym. The pool area has been fitted with mood lighting, the ideal area to relax after a busy day. Our new Hotel Spa offers a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices. Here at the BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, we are always mindful that 'our aim is to welcome you back'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Bridgend Best Western
Best Western Bridgend
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing