We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in July 2014. Yes the room was a little dated and the front is a little 1970's spaceship but overall this is a great hotel. Had a treatment and used the pool / gym and they were excellent. Evening meal was very good and value for money. Drinks were a bit bit pricey, but it's a hotel bar so it was expected. 5 minute drive to the beach. I have booked to go again on a deal that was offered at checkout. Staff were helpful even though it was very busy. Recommended for couples who want to relax or family's that just want a base to sleep at.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and have already booked you next visit, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is very nicely situated and modern, The room was a good size but the lighting was not great.Our shower was not very powerful but on the whole okay. They need to make sure that they have adequate food supplies and that the bar is fully equipped, it was not during our stay.The staff are very smart and polite but need a bit more training. The breakfast experience was not good. The food was okay but not at all relaxing.All DIY including beverages.It reminded me of my school days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank lynne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for yuour review, All points raised help the hotel to decide on further training needs and standards improvements which we use to continually improve. we look forward to you visiting the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Took my daughter and some friends for her 30th birthday wonderful all round the staff were very pleasant and helpfull even though were very busy getting ready for getting ready for a wedding the lads behind the bar were great the girls that did the treatment were friendly and was made to feel very welcome the pool and other amenities were lovely clean and well kept food lovely can't praise you enough we will be back will be recommending to all my friends and colleagues thank you

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review, I am happy you enjoyed your spa day and are recommending us to your friends and family. we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First of all had trouble booking in the Bridgend area as on all sites of the major hotel chains there was no phone number! Even for this Hotel I had to go through Directory Enquiries to book! I could not book on line as I am disabled and wanted to know if their facilities would accommodate me. They did not disappoint. I was given a ground floor bedroom with more than adequate space for a wheelchair. Everything was spotless and the Bar meal, taken the evening we arrived, was more than enough to satisfy. An excellent breakfast was taken in the morning. We could only stay for the one night but, having good accommodation, more than made up for our sad visit to attend a funeral,

Room Tip: Could not say as we only had the one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to read you had a good stay and you enjoyed your bar meal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future under happier circumsances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a day at the spa, and firstly I have to say the staff were fabulous, we could not fault them. But we were told there were no slippers and a shortage of towels, things like this should not happen. We had a really lovely afternoon tea, the food was beautifully presented. Thank you to all the staff for looking after us but I think the management need to get these things sorted.

Room Tip: Make sure you take towels and slippers if you use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your spa day. The hotel was sort delivered from the laundry company which did make us tight for towels on that day. We have not provided slippers previuosly but your comments will be taken into consideration for future planning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 18th and 19th of july on a living social deal.on booking there were no standard rooms available so i had to upgrade and i must say the rooms were of a very high standard.the room did get very hot so i asked for a fan and 1 was delivered within 5 minutes.all the staff were very very friendly and the food was superb.our stay coincided with an 18th birthday party a 40th and a wedding but we were not disturbed at all.my wife said that there was a really nice feel about the place.i would definetely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dayo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked into the Heronston with friends of ours for an overnight spa break and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. The pool, steam room and sauna were all to a high quality and the treatments from the spa were fantastic.

The room was slightly dated but comfortable and clean. Our stay coincided with 2 weddings at the hotel as well as a 60th birthday, so in the evening the bar area was packed, this was no problem and added to the enjoyment. A special mention has to go to the chef, apart from catering for the above he was able to prepare for what the 4 of us agreed was probably one of the nicest meals we'd ever had.

All in all, no complaints from the weekend and would happily stay again, and recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy to hear you had a great time at the hotel and enjoyed your meal. I will forward your compliments on to our chef and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
2.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
657 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
301 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
385 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
460 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Address: Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF35 5AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: £62 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for both business and pleasure. The hotel is located in a semi rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. We are within easy reach of the dramatic Heritage Coastline and equidistant from our vibrant capital city of Cardiff & the cosmopolitan city of Swansea. The hotel boasts 75 well appointed non smoking bedrooms including Standard and Superior rooms and Suites. Ewennys Bar & Grill is the perfect place for pre dinner drinks or to order a light snack or bar meal. Our Crane Restaurant offers a Seasonal Menu and all food served is sourced locally and prepared and cooked freshly. We are able to offer a range of conference facilities from a small meeting for 2 up to a conference for 200 with all audio and visual requirements catered for. We have several banqueting suites which can cater for 8 up to 240 guests and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event. Our Herons Leisure Club offers an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym. The pool area has been fitted with mood lighting, the ideal area to relax after a busy day. Our new Hotel Spa offers a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices. Here at the BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, we are always mindful that 'our aim is to welcome you back'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Bridgend Best Western
Best Western Bridgend
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing