We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel for friend's wedding. What a lovely setting for a special occasion. Great service throughout our stay. Well done - no hesitatation in highly recommending this hotel for just a break away or something special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingham977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your recommendations!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Great House on another occassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel and had dinner that evening.
Despite there being two functions on (which they advised us about in advance) it was a great experience. The room we had was very well appointed and the food was fabulous.
The staff were very friendly and gave great service.
We would come back and would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great place. Stay for the dinner experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lickhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed both your stay and your meal with us. We look foward to welcoming you back, maybe when it's a little quieter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel already has a certificate of excellence 2013 winner and well deserved, Friendliest people you could wish to meet. Delicious and well presented food. Rooms to dream about and lovely grounds for the weary traveller.

Room Tip: Leicester's restaurant has all the amenities for a quiet or romantic dinner, also serves afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatMac253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Great House, and that the garden offered some respite for you during your stay. It was good to have the lovely weather.
We lok forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

When you first arrive the Hotel is in its own oasis! Charming, old with great character. A warm and sincere welcome made my day and being shown to your room was a fantastic touch point! Plenty of lively conversation continued in the bar lounge followed by an exceptional dinner in the resturant, my scallops were cooked to perfection! My room was very clean and the bed gave me a pefect nights sleep! Breakfast was a joy! To be greeted in a cheerful but yet professional manner was just brillant! Attention to detail was second to none! The whole team were fantastic but a special mention goes to Samera (hope i got her name right?)
Thanks! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tee1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you well!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I have visited this hotel on several occasions
The Italian gentleman who is front of house is great - he is a big
Improvement over the last manager .the dinning is excellent we are
Looking forward to going again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your comments.
Mohammed and the team look forward to welcoming you back to the Great House on another occassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Well, having stayed at the hotel on a number of occasions, I expect the highest accolade is in choosing the hotel for your own wedding. This we did despite living in Devon (I must admit to being Cardiff born and Cardiff bred so I did know of this hotel, and had eaten here before moving away).

Well... a big thank you to Stephen and Norma and the excellent staff and Chef's working for them. It was a fantastic day, despite the break in the weather and the thunderstorm in the late afternoon..which provided its own entertainment where the children acted as "umbrella escorts" during the periods of rain....the thunder having passed over...as we had moved into the gazebo to get some fresh air as it was quite muggy.

As this was "second time around" for both of us, we arrived the previous day to make sure all was in order and take the pressure off a bit. We did not have to worry, all was in order. We had a great evening meal and good cooked breakfast. Our guest started arriving around mid-day where most were staying in the hotel, and were greeted and escorted to their rooms to freshen up. The service was in the hotel, in the upstairs function room, and was just right.! Afterwards we moved to the lounge where refreshments were served and we relaxed. We had the whole of the afternoon mixing and getting to know one another which was great, especially with the garden and gazebo where the children could get rid of some energy.

Our wedding breakfast started with flaked salmon with a cucumber dressing (the children had a fruit platter with a rich sorbet), followed by roast breast of chicken with lemon and thyme stuffing and seasonal vegetables. We finished with rasberry eton mess. The Champagne and wines were the house specialities and complemented the food perfectly.

It is always difficult to get the food correct for a large gathering, however everything was perfectly cooked and the timing and attention to detail was spot on. I do think we should have warned you about the cake being based on an Italian recipe with a meringue centre layer - I understand it caused some concern in the kitchen when the knife stopped halfway through...Well, my sister and brother-in-law wanted to surprise us with a "special" cake and I think the one they prepared did just do that.

What can I say other than a big thank you - perfect, just perfect.

Room Tip: Nothing to add. Our guests were scattered throughout the hotel on the Friday night and all I heard w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artangelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments.
It was a lovely day all round!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Great House the next time you are back in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a night in Cardiff (not good) and a second night here which was excellent. The hotel is lovely, the staff are all friendly and the owner was very attentive to our needs. The room was very comfortable, the food in the restaurant was very good and well priced. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting this area. Stewart & Tanya

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate your feedback. Sorry your Cardiff visit was not a success and hope we made up for that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
659 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
8.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: £64 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Restaurant Tommy Heaney our award winning restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing