We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bridgend - The most amazing Stay ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My stay in Bridgend with the Great House Hotel was the most amazing ever. One of my clients from the US recommended me to this hotel and in fact told me not to worry about the stay as he has stayed at this place and it is awesome. I stayed there for four nights and this was one of the most amazing and wonderful places I have been. The hotel was charming, the steps a little low so that you have to bend while you reach your room else you might end up damaging your head. The food just awesome and the hospitality fantastic. Located in Wales, Bridgend I think the owners display some of the awesome Welsh hospitality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: None so far.. I do not have any recommendations
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank try2xl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am please that everything was in order, and that you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Bridgend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for The Great House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

this is a property full of character, one of the oldest properties in the area, rooms are very quirky and genuine, restaurant is traditional farmhouse style, no frills-run of the mill food, good service, all in all a good honest hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kryptonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you, we are looking forward to a new menu and kitchen in the new year. Will try to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The owners of this quaint 16C hunting lodge of the Earl of Leicester worked miracles in restoring its former glory from a derelict wreck in the 1980s. Although the dining room has a stylish retro feel, the decor and fittings of our very spacious junior suite was locked in an 80s time warp. Who fits gold bathroom fittings now with brown floral tiles? never mind, the bed was huge but made with sheets and blankets! Dining was adequate when compared with competitors such as the Hardwick at Abergavenny and Gliffaes House. Breakfast was excellent, whereas dinner was unimaginative. We could not fault the friendly welcome from the manager who offered anything from the dinner or bar snack menu when we arrived mid-evening. All in all, a mixed bag, a curate's egg of a place. The place perhaps needs a bit of a shake up.

Room Tip: Junior suite is huge and comfortable so long as you don't mind brown bathroom tikles
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thanks - We're glad you enjoyed a small bite of the Curate's egg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We live around the corner to the Great House, and therefore whenever we want a special meal we usually go here. The price is good for what is a top quality fine dining experience. Always relaxed and really feels like an occasion to go. I am vegetarian and never have a problem finding something I fancy to eat.
Staff are lovely too :)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HelenFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Nice to know the neighbours are using us for their local. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Didn't stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant.
Got to say the service was outstanding from the owners and all members of staff,
The service complemented the food which was extremely enjoyable.
Would recommend anyone to eat here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank freddiejunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Front Office Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and your recommendation!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Great House on another occassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Really nice venue however, we booked a gathering which included a buffet; the service was good and the staff polite unfortunately all this was not congruent with the food which was offered. I spoke to the chief who was polite and tried to accommodate the slight change to the menu but on the day the sandwiches were basic, the crisps stale; I could not eat the pasties ( the pastry was okay filling awful) and as for the rest of it.... To be honest it was no better than pub food which I would have paid a fraction of the price.
I have visited this venue previously and enjoyed my meals there but I don't know what has happed standards appear to have slipped. Guests were offered to take home what was left but no one took up the offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sureeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your review.
I am very sorry you were disappointed with the buffet you were served and regret that a difficult time for you and your family was made harder by your experience.
There can be no excuses for what appears to have been a failure on the part of our head chef and his team. For this we are truly sorry.
I have of course spoken to them and as a result of your comments, changes have been made to the menu.
We do hope that you give us the opportunity on a more pleasant occasion to make amends.
Once again we thank you for your feedback.
Norma Bond FIH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and i were visiting Porthcawl too play some golf. The hotel reports in Porthcawl were a bit mixed and the Great House is only 5 minutes drive away. We were not disappointed. It's an old building nicely refurbished with a bit of character, low ceilings etc but all mod cons. Staff very keen to help they allowed us a 'flexible package' one night with a meal (Full choice off a la carte) and one night B&B with the option to upgrade. The food was excellent. Off road Car Parking. Although it is on a road it is quiet at night. We would not hesitate to go back, recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and your recommendation.
We are very pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your golf break, and that you were looked after so well during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great House again when you can maybe try out one of the other golf courses in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
655 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
382 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
506 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: £66 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Restaurant Tommy Heaney our award winning restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing