We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Thank you to the staff of The Great House for a lovely Sunday lunch, wonderful service, outstanding meal and when I mentioned it was my sons birthday he was given a box of chocolates as he left, little things like that are what make the Great House a memorable place to visit for a special lunch out, well done, we will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    66
    17
    19
    9
See reviews for
66
90
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had to change our lunch booking (time and numbers) at very short notice and it wasn't a problem for the staff who were really good. Good pint of Brains, good lunch menu and quality food. Service was really good. Well recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our chilren had booked us in this small hotel and restaurant for a 'treat'. The staff were friendly and our room comfortable. The decor appeared somewhat dated but had been of good quality in its day. Our meal was 'nice'. Nothing major to complain about but we have had better meals for less money in several restaurants in the area. This is a lovely restored building (grade 2 listed) which would benefit from redecoration and updating. Overall this was a pleasant stay but not one which I would list as a 'must do again'

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison-Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Sorry that you were not entirely happy, we have a refurbishing programme underway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed as a family and were the only ones staying here. Disappointingly 2 couples stayed in the cottages (£120 per night) where they could have allowed them to stay in the main house and both couples mentioned the very short beds......and they aren't particularly tall! We paid £160 for the junior suite which was very spacious and could be classed as "vintage!" Very 70's! But that doesn't really matter - it was clean. However I was Surprised that the bed had a blanket and not a duvet - fortunately our bed was huge as my husband is 6ft! . Cooked breakfast was good but scrambled eggs had to be returned which they dealt with very professionally. Service was very warm and friendly. We would go back to the restaurant but pay for a taxi to travel home.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs because of the chimes from the local church if you are a light sleeper. Stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heulwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My stay in Bridgend with the Great House Hotel was the most amazing ever. One of my clients from the US recommended me to this hotel and in fact told me not to worry about the stay as he has stayed at this place and it is awesome. I stayed there for four nights and this was one of the most amazing and wonderful places I have been. The hotel was charming, the steps a little low so that you have to bend while you reach your room else you might end up damaging your head. The food just awesome and the hospitality fantastic. Located in Wales, Bridgend I think the owners display some of the awesome Welsh hospitality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: None so far.. I do not have any recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank try2xl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am please that everything was in order, and that you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Bridgend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

this is a property full of character, one of the oldest properties in the area, rooms are very quirky and genuine, restaurant is traditional farmhouse style, no frills-run of the mill food, good service, all in all a good honest hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kryptonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you, we are looking forward to a new menu and kitchen in the new year. Will try to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The owners of this quaint 16C hunting lodge of the Earl of Leicester worked miracles in restoring its former glory from a derelict wreck in the 1980s. Although the dining room has a stylish retro feel, the decor and fittings of our very spacious junior suite was locked in an 80s time warp. Who fits gold bathroom fittings now with brown floral tiles? never mind, the bed was huge but made with sheets and blankets! Dining was adequate when compared with competitors such as the Hardwick at Abergavenny and Gliffaes House. Breakfast was excellent, whereas dinner was unimaginative. We could not fault the friendly welcome from the manager who offered anything from the dinner or bar snack menu when we arrived mid-evening. All in all, a mixed bag, a curate's egg of a place. The place perhaps needs a bit of a shake up.

Room Tip: Junior suite is huge and comfortable so long as you don't mind brown bathroom tikles
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks - We're glad you enjoyed a small bite of the Curate's egg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Property: The Great House Hotel
Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Leicester's our 2 AA rosette restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing