We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Great House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wyndham Arms(Bridgend)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4(Bridgend)(Great Value!)
US$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
175
80
25
28
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
80
25
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menuafternoon teathe main housesauna and jacuzzifamily mealattentive without being intrusivebetween coursessandwichescheese boardlittle touchesfront of housescallopssunday lunchate herebirthday partyspecial occasionget together
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice on the January
Chill out deal as it was just
Fantastic.
Staff friendly , great food, nice wine.& clean quaint rooms.
We have stayed in the big house and court yard rooms
Both perfect.
Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the review, we keep trying hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Thank you to the staff of The Great House for a lovely Sunday lunch, wonderful service, outstanding meal and when I mentioned it was my sons birthday he was given a box of chocolates as he left, little things like that are what make the Great House a memorable place to visit for a special lunch out, well done, we will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had to change our lunch booking (time and numbers) at very short notice and it wasn't a problem for the staff who were really good. Good pint of Brains, good lunch menu and quality food. Service was really good. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our chilren had booked us in this small hotel and restaurant for a 'treat'. The staff were friendly and our room comfortable. The decor appeared somewhat dated but had been of good quality in its day. Our meal was 'nice'. Nothing major to complain about but we have had better meals for less money in several restaurants in the area. This is a lovely restored building (grade 2 listed) which would benefit from redecoration and updating. Overall this was a pleasant stay but not one which I would list as a 'must do again'

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison-Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Sorry that you were not entirely happy, we have a refurbishing programme underway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed as a family and were the only ones staying here. Disappointingly 2 couples stayed in the cottages (£120 per night) where they could have allowed them to stay in the main house and both couples mentioned the very short beds......and they aren't particularly tall! We paid £160 for the junior suite which was very spacious and could be classed as "vintage!" Very 70's! But that doesn't really matter - it was clean. However I was Surprised that the bed had a blanket and not a duvet - fortunately our bed was huge as my husband is 6ft! . Cooked breakfast was good but scrambled eggs had to be returned which they dealt with very professionally. Service was very warm and friendly. We would go back to the restaurant but pay for a taxi to travel home.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs because of the chimes from the local church if you are a light sleeper. Stay in the main house the extra cost is worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heulwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews