We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden diamond in the rough of bridgend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This may seem a long review but if you want an honest opinion you'll read

The welcome was second to none the young lady who served us all last night was polite Courteous and brought over our drinks and menus took my coat and lit the fire the atmosphere was just perfect decor was fab too

We got seated in the restaurant and hubby and I were amazed how beautifully set out and clean it was
The food itself was well worth it venison was fresh and the red lentil/tomato soup very tasty
Rib eye was cooked perfectly and the pork tenderloin was so juicy and full of flavour garlic mash was perfect.lemon tart dessert looked beautiful as did all the food
After our dinner we went back into the pub side,pub actually sounds common so lounge is more appropriate I think very homely feel just to relax and have a drink

My hubby is from the north and not fond of bridgend but we've found a very rare diamond on our doorstep and will definitely be returning and are considering having our wedding there too

Can't wait to go back beautiful place fantastic staff and service
Keep it local and go to the great house you will not be disappointed

Thank you the Duffs

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nikki j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for thaking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice place, staff is very willing to accommodate Find it to be peaceful and parking is good. Dining food is very nice as well There menu is a market menu and does change form time to time Some rooms located outside main building

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SincereAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review, hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed in the great house in jan 2014 for just one night on business.

Throughout my stay each member of staff I encountered was extremely professional, polite and catered to every need.

The food in the restaurant was beautiful, cooked to perfection, with ingredients clearly having been carefully sourced locally.

The room was a good size, nicely decorated and filled with the nice little touches that set this apart from the big chains in the same price bracket.

I can't recommend this place enough, and I'll be on the lookout myself for any excuse to pay a return visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We went here for my mums birthday for a lunch time meal. Service was excellent, very friendly attentive staff, and food was fantastic! Definitely would recommend. The lunch time menu offered a good range of choice, and staff were more than happy to offer dishes from the other menus, which was great. My Mum was even given a card and box of chocolates for her birthday, which was lovely. And a candle in her dessert.great meal,great service.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rhiannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for the review. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice on the January
Chill out deal as it was just
Fantastic.
Staff friendly , great food, nice wine.& clean quaint rooms.
We have stayed in the big house and court yard rooms
Both perfect.
Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the review, we keep trying hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Thank you to the staff of The Great House for a lovely Sunday lunch, wonderful service, outstanding meal and when I mentioned it was my sons birthday he was given a box of chocolates as he left, little things like that are what make the Great House a memorable place to visit for a special lunch out, well done, we will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had to change our lunch booking (time and numbers) at very short notice and it wasn't a problem for the staff who were really good. Good pint of Brains, good lunch menu and quality food. Service was really good. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
666 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
412 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
184 reviews
8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Bridgend County > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Restaurant Tommy Heaney our award winning restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing