We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely dog walk”

Bryngarw Country Park
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely dog walk”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I love this place where we can walk the dog in the woods and enjoy a cuppa at the end of it the hotel has also great food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank phil19692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    84
    25
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent country park”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I with 2 of our children (12 and 15) spent an afternoon in the park and despite the rain (which got lighter thankfully) we had a great time.

We started with the rather nice tea room which has excellent cakes.

Suitably charged we set off into the park. I think we might have been the only ones there on that wet Monday afternoon - certainly we saw no one else for the few hours.

We explored only a fraction of the park walking through the wetlands area with its wooden walkways and the more formal gardens near the house. For anyone who knows the park we found only one keeper so lots left to explore on another visit. We all said we'd come back for another visit so full marks to the park for a great visit.

The park is free but there is a small charge for the car park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Park”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently returned to living in the area and have visited on two occasions to take country walks with our two dogs. It is a beautiful country park suitable for families, walkers, cyclists. There is an educational area I believe for school visits, a playground, cafe near the car park and the main house which has a restaurant and also has rooms for overnight stays. You can walk along the river, follow the cycle route, or around the Japanese garden. There are also longer routes for those who want a longer walk. There does still seem to be a bit of debris from falling trees through the winter which needs clearing and some of the wooden walkways need repair. There are well maintained public toilets on site.
We used to pay £1 on weekends and school holidays to park the car, but it is now a minimum of £2.50 at all times. Quite a lot if visiting 5pm in the evening to walk the dogs for an hour or to take the children to the playground and for an icecream after school. This would put me off visiting in the future. I do think a minimum of a £1 for up to two hours would be more acceptable and more in keeping with other similar venues.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to go for a walk and a picnic.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

There is noting to fault about this beautiful country park. But make sure you take your own food and drink, the manor's food and drink is very over priced for what they have on offer during the day. The cafe by the car park was faultless when it opened is now over priced and even got in some miserable staff. Going form a lovely place to be to awful . They have put the prices up so much and have done nothing special to deserve them. So my advice would be to pack a picnic and drinks when going there. Do not fall for the over priced eating places.....the food in both is less than mediocre now.

The public loo's are always clean.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneCaridff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for children and families”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Finally Bridgend council seem to be putting some effort into Bryngarw by clearing the fallen trees and repairing the boardwalks.
It's got a great play area, lovely walks, lots of places to have a picnic and a good cafe.
The only drawback is the minimum £2.50 to park. I used to pop up for an hour from time to time, I wont be doing that any more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanna2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bryngarw Country Park also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Southerndown, Bridgend
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Bryngarw Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing