We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Convenient Hotel”
Review of The Wyndham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wyndham Arms
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My Wife and I now live in Yorkshire and are originally from the local area, when we travel home we always use the Wyndam it is quite often cheaper than Taxis to our relatives a it is always clean and the Breakfast in the morning is excellent. The location is in the Centre of Town with easy access to Trains and Bus Services,
Mark + Yvonne B

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Mark & Yvonne, from all the staff here at The Wyndham Arms Hotel thank you very much for your lovely review. We're pleased that the location of our hotel suits your needs and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Another excellent stay in Bridgend. Lisa and her reception team never disappoint. Better service than many top class hotels. Spotless room with plenty of hot water. Coffee/tea etc. excellent service from all the staff. Looking forward to our next stay. Thank you Lisa. Allan & Margaret - Swansea

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Allan & Margaret, thank you for your lovely review. It's always a pleasure to have you stay with and we're glad to hear you're happy with the service you received. We look forward to having you with us again soon and from all the staff at The Wyndham Arms Hotel if we don't see you before have a lovely Christmas and a happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Initially we couldn't find the hotel but this was more because we hadn't read the provided directions - make sure you do! Once you locate the Embassy Carpark it's simple. We arrived quite late and a very helpful carpark attendant explained where to park and tickets were purchased from the Bargain Booze shop in the corner. A short walk over the bridge and you're there. Check in was easy and quick, and our room had quite a quirky layout and a couple of nice original features, such as the window from waist height down to the floor - a little unusual..... The room itself was reasonably well proportioned and the bathroom clean and a good size, great powerful shower. The downside as other reviewers have mentioned is the noise from outside due to the local teenagers congregating and making a racket, which went on in to the small hours. While not the Hotel's fault perhaps some double glazing might not be a bad idea?. The Wetherspoons bar and restaurant downstairs is surprizingly cavernous and was packed on match day with seemingly the entire population of Bridgend. We just popped in to pick up a bottle of wine and a couple of glasses to take back up to the room with us, which was no issue. We didn't eat here but the menu looked exceptional value as you'd expect from a "Spoons", and it was certainly busy so perhaps that's a good recommendation? Aside from the external noise the mattress (in room 12 anyway) felt like it had been stuffed with chickpeas, but certainly didn't stop me sleeping after a long and knackering day at the Rugby. Really enjoyed the stay, makes a great base for the rugby in Cardiff being just a few minutes walk from the station and would certainly stay here again - great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you from myself and all the staff for your kind review. I’m pleased to hear you liked your accommodation and would return in future. In regards to the external noise I understand this is frustrating to guests, unfortunately as a listen building we are limited as to what can be done in regards to the windows. Future developments on the property include internal glazing to reduce some of the external noise which we hope will help, especially on certain weekends as you mentioned which can be quite busy. We would love you to return in the future, if you do mention the noise issue at booking and we will endeavour to provide you with the quietest room possible. From all the staff here at The Wyndham Arms Hotel thank you once again for your customer and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Have just stayed two nights at the Wyndham Arms with my wife. It is great value for money, and we found our rooms spotless. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful which added to our enjoyment. Lisa, the manager is quite amazing. Her sole mission is to ensure that your stay is excellent, and nothing is too much trouble for her. We have travelled a lot around the UK and have rarely encountered a more helpful person. The entire staff are a credit to the Wetherspoon group. Thank you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveA380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

We’re delighted to read such a lovely comment. Thank you very much for taking the time to write it. I can assure you all the staff here at The Wyndham Arms hotel will be pleased to see their hard work is appreciated. Mostly we are happy you enjoyed your stay, that’s the most important part. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Kind regards from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Good value for money. It's a pity the youngsters gather outside at all hours of the night making a racket and making it hard to have a good nights sleep. The manager said the hotel is a listed building and no sound proofing could be fitted. Cheap and cheerful breakfast is a bonus.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank shawsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review, feed back from our guests is always appreciated. We’re delighted to hear you found the hotel and breakfast good value for money, we always aim to be the cheapest in the area. In regards to the outside noise we understand this can be frustrating for our guests. Although this is not a regular issue on certain nights the external noise can be quite loud. We always endeavour to make sure our guests are happy, should you book with us in future please request a quiet room and we will do our best to accommodate this. Once again thank you from myself and the hotel team for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Another enjoyable stay thanks to the lovely Lisa and her staff. Nothing is to much trouble and would highly recommend if ur looking for a relaxing place to stay. Stayed for 3 weeks this visit and ave been staying at the Wyndham on and off for the past 7 years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Excellent rooms and excellent staff = excellent stay. Thanks again Lisa. See u soon.x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedsfc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review, it is always nice to hear from our regulars! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. From Lisa and all the staff at The Wyndham Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

As I live very close to Bridgend town centre I have not had the need to actually stay at this hotel. However we regularly visit on a Saturday morning and have breakfast. I usually just have a coffee and hubby has the full cooked breakfast which he always enjoys. This particular Saturday I decided to have something to eat and chose the Eggs Benedict ....it was delicious the eggs were cooked to perfection and there were very generous slices of ham on the toasted muffins. The staff are always polite here and it's also very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tripluen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We're very pleased to hear you visit regularly and are always satisfied. Thank you on behalf of myself and all the staff here at the Wyndham Arms for taking the time out to write the review and we look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
1 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
670 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
514 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyndham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms

Address: Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Bridgend County > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: £38 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wyndham Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub! About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we're ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium. Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually. Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel. Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request. Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wyndham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyndham Arms Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing